Just When I Need Him Most


Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

Two great hymn memories from my early childhood stand out. One was hearing Charles Weigel singing No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus. The other was hearing Dr. Lee Roberson singing Just When I Need Him Most. That song was one of Dr. Roberson’s most favorite hymns; one of mine too! Perhaps it’s not ironic that both those two memories reveal truths about God’s care and comfort.

Oh how many times I have needed Him; every time He has been there. Christ is the perfect comforter, let us seek his help. For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need (Heb 4:15-16).

Many trials, numerous temptations come our way but He has already promised to help us through them all. There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it (1 Cor 10:13). Christ has told us, and this we know, that His will provide sufficient grace to bear our burdens. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me (2 Cor 12:9). He alone has the power and resources to help when we need help the most. But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus (Phil 4:19).

He is my refuge; He will be there when I need Him. The LORD also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble. And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee (Ps 9:9-10). These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world (John 16:33).

So remember in your hour of need to call on our all-sufficient Shepherd, He cares! Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (1 Pet 5:6-7). God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble (Ps 46:1).

William C. Poole, a Methodist minister from Delaware, wrote the lyrics to Just When I Need Him Most in 1907. Renowned hymnist Charles H. Gabriel wrote the music in the same year.

Just when I need Him, Jesus is near,
Just when I falter, just when I fear;
Ready to help me, ready to cheer,
Just when I need Him most.

Chorus: Just when I need Him most,
Just when I need Him most,
Jesus is near to comfort and cheer,
Just when I need Him most.

Just when I need Him, Jesus is true,
Never forsaking all the way through;
Giving for burdens pleasures anew,
Just when I need Him most.

Just when I need Him, Jesus is strong,
Bearing my burdens all the day long;
For all my sorrow giving a song,
Just when I need Him most.

Just when I need Him, He is my all,
Answering when upon Him I call;
Tenderly watching lest I should fall,
Just when I need Him most.

I also personally heard Mr. Neil Queen sing Just When I Need Him Most. Neil Queen ministered by song for many years at the Highland Park Baptist Church in Chattanooga, Tennessee. He was known as the “Voice of Comfort.” Lee Roberson called Neil Queen “The king of gospel singers” and said this about him: “There is no way to estimate the number of people who were blessed by the songs of this man. He used his talent to glorify God and to help others. He was an untold blessing to our ministry of the Highland Park Baptist Church.” I hope the late Mr. Queen blesses you now with Just When I Need Him Most.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just When I Need Him Most

  1. A. C. Baker says:

    I appreciated this. I was looking for the tune to that song when I found this. Thank you for posting it. By the way, I currently attend (42 year old graduating in December) Tennessee Temple.

    • Mike M says:

      You can probably tell from the blog that I spent several wonderful years under the ministry of Dr. Lee Roberson; so many hymns and songs I first heard there.

Leave a Reply

