I Will Sing of My Redeemer


Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers; but with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot (1 Peter 1:18-19).

I Will Sing of My Redeemer is one of the most eloquent hymns written in America and beyond that, the lyrics present the Gospel in simple truth. The main emphasis of the hymn is to praise Jesus Christ, my redeemer, while giving the Gospel truth. Let the redeemed of the Lord say so (Ps 107:2). Philip B. Bliss certainly gave us a song to praise our gracious redeemer. I Will Sing of My Redeemer has been in my heart since I was a small boy first hearing the hymn at the Highland Park Baptist Church, Chattanooga, Tennessee.

I will sing of my Redeemer,
And His wondrous love to me;
On the cruel cross He suffered,
From the curse to set me free.

Refrain: Sing, oh sing, of my Redeemer,
With His blood, He purchased me.
On the cross, He sealed my pardon,
Paid the debt, and made me free.

I will tell the wondrous story,
How my lost estate to save,
In His boundless love and mercy,
He the ransom freely gave.

I will praise my dear Redeemer,
His triumphant power I’ll tell,
How the victory He giveth
Over sin, and death, and hell.

I will sing of my Redeemer,
And His heav’nly love to me;
He from death to life hath brought me,
Son of God with Him to be.

I Will Sing of My Redeemer is likely the last hymn Philip Bliss penned. He and his wife were traveling home by train in December 1976 from a revival in Chicago. The winter snow and ice made for dangerous travel. As their train was crossing over a river in Ashtabula, Ohio, the bridge gave way, the cars fell into the freezing waters below. Bliss escaped through a window, only to find that his wife had somehow been left behind in the burning wreckage. Although he was advised against it, Bliss headed back into the fire, saying: “If I cannot save her, I will perish with her.” The couple did not survive but entered the gates of spender on the same day. Ninety-two of the 160 passengers perished. Most of the cargo was burned but a few remains were retrieved from the accident site. In Bliss’ belongings recently penned lyrics were found, the lyrics of I Will Sing of My Redeemer. In 1877, the hymn was set to music by composer and evangelist James McGranahan (1840 -1907), whose works included There Shall Be Showers of Blessing. Interestingly in 1877, I Will Sing of My Redeemer became one of first, if not the first hymn, to be recorded on the phonograph; it was recorded by George C. Stebbins.

I love I Will Sing of My Redeemer and I love my Redeemer.

Sources: http://www.faithclipart.com/guide/Christian-Music/hymns-the-songs-and-the-stories/i-will-sing-of-my-redeemer-the-song-and-the-story.html; http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/m/y/myrdeemr.htm; King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Sing of My Redeemer

  1. rcottrill says:

    Greetings from Wordwise Hymns. Good to see Philip Bliss’s fine gospel song posted. I posted an article on it myself this morning. Just one small correction. The train wasn’t heading “from a revival in Chicago.” It was heading home to Chicago from Rome, Pennsylvania, where the Blisses had spent Christmas at his family’s home.

Leave a Reply

