He Came to Me


For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me (Matthew 25:35-36).

I love this song, so simple but so profound! I first heard He Came to Me in the 1980s on cassette tape, sung by Squire Parsons. It is performed as a solo occasionally at Liberty Baptist Church where I attend, but not enough.

I was separated from God by my sin. There was no way I could have ever overcome that separation, no amount of money could buy my way, no good works would ever have been enough. Yet, God sent His only begotten son to shed his blood on the cross for me and then he came looking for me just as he did for Zacchaeus. For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost (Luke 19:10). Christ closed the separation; He saved me.

20111009-230827.jpg

None of us are just; none of us seek God. As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one: There is none that understandeth, there is none that seeketh after God. They are all gone out of the way, they are together become unprofitable; there is none that doeth good, no, not one (Rom 3:10-12). God’s Law tells us that we are all sinners, guilty before Him. Now we know that what things soever the law saith, it saith to them who are under the law: that every mouth may be stopped, and all the world may become guilty before God. Therefore by the deeds of the law there shall no flesh be justified in his sight: for by the law is the knowledge of sin (Rom 3: 19-20). For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God (Rom 3:23).

Yet, Christ came to atone for my sin, your sin, and he is looking for us. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Rom 5:8). Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified (Gal 2:16).

Christ is the only answer to spanning the chasm separating us from God. Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved (Acts 4:12). He is come and is calling. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely (Rev 22:17).

Squire Parsons wrote the lyrics and music of He Came to Me in 1980.

The gulf that separated me from Christ, my Lord,
It was so vast the crossing I could never ford;
From where I was to His domain, it seemed so far;
I cried, “Dear Lord, I cannot come to where you are.”

Chorus: He came to me, O, He came to me.
When I could not come to where He was, He came to me.
That’s why He died on Calvary;
When I could not come to where He was, He came to me.

He came to me when I was bound in chains of sin,
He came to me when I could find no peace within;
Then He reached down and drew me gently to His side,
And today in His sweet love I now abide.

(chorus twice)

lyrics and music © Squire Parsons

 

Source: King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

