Jesus is Precious


For scarcely for a righteous man will one die: yet peradventure for a good man some would even dare to die. 8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Acts 5:7-8).

The song, Jesus is Precious, has been around for years but I first heard it only a few years ago. Peggy R. occasionally sings it as a special at my church, Liberty Baptist Church. It is a song once you hear, you cannot easily forget.

When reflecting on this song, I like to consider how Jesus is precious to me and to all Christians. Above all, He is precious because He gave his life for me, a sinner without hope. [He], who being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross (Phil 2:6-8).

The blood of Christ, shed on the cross, is precious, oh precious. Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers; But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot (1 Pet 1:18-19). For it pleased the Father that in him should all fulness dwell; And, having made peace through the blood of his cross, by him to reconcile all things unto himself; by him, I say, whether they be things in earth, or things in heaven (Col 1:19-20).

Because He hath saved us through His blood shed on the cross Jesus is so precious to His saints. He is the chief and precious corner stone of His church. Wherefore also it is contained in the scripture, Behold, I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: and he that believeth on him shall not be confounded. Unto you therefore which believe he is precious: but unto them which be disobedient, the stone which the builders disallowed, the same is made the head of the corner (1 Pet 2:6-7).

God’s word is precious. And the child Samuel ministered unto the LORD before Eli. And the word of the LORD was precious in those days; there was no open vision (1 San 3:1). God’s word is precious it is truth and settled forever. For ever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven (Psalm 119:89). How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them (Psalm 139:17).

God’s promises to His children are many, unwavering and very precious. Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust (2 Pet 1:4). … for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee (Heb 13:5b).

While we may not so, especially while we are going through them, trials from God are precious because they reveal the love and comfort of our Savior. That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ (1 Pet 1:7).

There’s one more attribute of Christ that is most precious and that is the death of believers, us, as we join Him in heaven. Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints (Psalm 116:15). That day will be precious to us as well.

UPDATE: A blog reader let me know Jesus is Precious was written by Bennie Triplett (Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee). The song was published in 1979 by Cannanland Music. I then found that Mr. Triplett wrote the song after hearing Ralph Brewer preach a sermon from 1 Peter 2:7, he wrote the song “Jesus Is Precious”, capturing the message of the text. Ralph Stanley recorded a bluegrass version of the song several years ago.

Chorus (sing first): Jesus is precious, He is so precious
Jesus is precious to me
He is my Saviour, my Lord and my Master
Jesus is precious to me.

When I feel disheartened, forsaken, forgotten,
Jesus is precious to me,
In every condition, He is my physician,
Jesus is precious to me.

Chorus

He’s comfort in sorrow, He’s hope for tomorrow,
Jesus is precious to me,
He’s all that I prayed for, What more could I ask for?
Jesus is precious to me

Chorus

It’s not earthy treasures, it’s not worldly pleasures,
Jesus is precious to me.
And though I prize friendship, and praise God for kinship,
Jesus is precious to me.

Chorus

Source: King James Version of the Bible

20120706-214534.jpg

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus is Precious

  1. This song was written by Bennie Triplet, Church of God, Cleveland, Tennessee, sometime in the 60’s I believe. It was published by either Pathway Press, or Tennessee Music and Printing Company. I am not sure whether it is still in print, but there is a very good choral arrangement of the song also. I have liked it from the first time i heard it.

Leave a Reply

