Who Am I


This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief (1 Timothy 1:15).

Have you ever thought about why Jesus would come, be born among us, and then give His life on a cruel cross for you? I have. God loves me, and you, far more than we can imagine. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16). [Jesus Christ] Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross (Phil 2:6-8).

Nothing that I had or may have would be sufficient to merit His love or to gain His salvation. It is only through His loving grace that I can accept His free gift ( Eph 2:8-9). Who am I that I should receive eternal life? I can only point to Christ’s love me. But God commendeth his love toward us (me), in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (me) (Rom 5:8).

We Christians should serve God, not out of responsibility but love. We love him, because he first loved us (1 John 4:19). Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me (Matt 16:24). Read more about this in Lay Them Down.

I first heard Who Am I at Trinity Baptist Church in the mid-1970s. I have heard the song many times since, and it never gets old as I am reminded of my insignificance and the mighty love of God. Rusty Goodman wrote the lyrics and music to Who Am I in 1965 (Copyright 1965, renewed 1993 by Playin’ TAG Music). Rusty Goodman is now with his Savior but his words live on and bless us.

When I think of how He came so far from glory,
Came to dwell among the lowly such as I,
To suffer shame and such disgrace
On Mount Calvary take my place,
Then I ask myself this question
Who am I?

Chorus: Who am I that The King would bleed and die for?
Who am I that He would pray not my will, thine Lord?
The answer I may never know,
Why He ever loved me so.
But to that old rugged cross He’d go
For who am I?

When I’m reminded of His words
I’ll leave Him never.
If you’ll be true I’ll give to you life forever.
Oh I wonder what I could have done
To deserve God’s only Son,
To fight my battles until they’re won
For who am I?

Sources: King James Version of the Bible, MusicNotes

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Who Am I

  1. Pingback: Because of Calvary | Hymns in My Heart

  2. Pingback: A Small Lonely Hill | Hymns in My Heart

  3. joshvanklomp says:

    This is one of my favorite old songs. The words are so powerful.

    Thank you for keeping the words of these old hymns and songs alive. This is the first time I’ve read your blog, and I’ve already subscribed to get future posts. I also will probably feature your blog at some point on my blog I write about southern gospel music.

    Songs like these need to be kept alive. Thank you for doing your part.

Leave a Reply

