A Small Lonely Hill


Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ: 4 According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him in love (Ephesians 1:3-4).

Before this week to my knowledge I had never heard A Small Lonely Hill. I discovered it while researching Who Am I. I found a video of Rusty Goodman singing it, listening to his rendition gives me chill bumps. Dwayne Friend wrote the lyrics and music around 1975 (seeking copyright details).

I normally post lyrics at the bottom of a post but for this song I feel the lyrics should be given early.

(Spoken) In the beginning God stood in the stillness
and spoke His creative words: “
“Let there be light, and let the heavens appear.”
Then with Him mighty hand He scooped up the canyons;
with His fingers traced the courses for the rivers;
made the mountains stand tall and still.
But then a slight trace of sadness came into His eyes:

(Sung)
As He made a small, lonely hill.
Then he said, “Let us make man into our own image,
And give him dominion over all;
We will walk together in the cool of the evening,
And I’ll help him if he should fall;
But I want him to love me because he really wants to;
To walk with Me by his own will;
And then a slight trace of sadness came back into His eyes,
As He looked toward that small, lonely hill.
Then late one evening, God came to the garden,
He said, “Adam, Adam, wherefore art thou?”
The birds hushed their singing;
in the garden there was silence;
You could sense it, for something had died;
Then God said, “I love them and I won’t let them go.”
Then a shadow on that hillside appeared;
For a man hung there dying; crying “I thirst,”
But God turned His face toward that small, lonely hill.
Now I thank God for his rivers;
and I thank Him for His mountains; And His heaven; how my heart always will;
But when I walk into that city where the saved will all praise Him,
I thank Him for that small, lonely hill.
Yes, I’ll thank God, for Calvary’s hill.

Listening to A Small Lonely Hill is like watching an artist start to paint until he finishes a masterpiece. He knows what he is going to paint before he starts but we watch with each stroke of his brush. The picture becomes so real. That’s how God gave us Christ. Before He created earth He knew we would fall to sin. Before He created earth He knew we would need a redeemer and He knew the very spot Christ would be crucified for our sin. He created that Mount Calvary, the place where all of mankind could be redeemed.

Dwayne Friend gently painted us this masterpiece. He told how God created earth and man, how God wanted man to love Him but with free will to do so, or not. Mr. Friend tells us how Adam sinned and how God promised to send the Redeemer. He flashes forward to Christ on the cross on a lonely hill and finishes the vivid art with us in Heaven glorifying the Lamb. Throughout A Small Lonely Hill the love of God is highlighted as if painted with special oil. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, being now justified by his blood, we shall be saved from wrath through him (Romans 5:8-9).

I enjoy listening to Rusty Goodman present A Small Lonely Hill. I hope you do too.

Sources: King James Version of the Bible, lyrics

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Small Lonely Hill

  1. joshua boyd says:

    I listened to this song a few days ago. I always been a rusty goodman fan since first listening.to hom from my grandma thats now past. My fav song I got addicted.to was.Remember Me. Since I heard this, I said my God what a gorgeous and humbling song. It almost brought me to tears. This is a great song for southern gospel lovers. I love this song and recommend anyone to listen to this beautiful song.

Leave a Reply

