O Love That Will Not Let Me Go


For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16

My father, Buster, was a simple man. He spent many years in the ministry serving his Lord. Those that knew my dad know that his favorite verse was John 3:16. My father’s last message was delivered on John 3:16 and 17. My father often told others about how much God had loved him, a survivor of the depression, an unworthy man but whom Christ saved by grace. While my dad’s memory faded in his later years not able to remember me, he remembered the love bestowed by his Lord. It is fitting that I remember him in this first post.

The ultimate expression of love was for God to give the life of his only son to die so that our sin can be washed away and that we can spend eternal life with God. God did just that. John 3:16 tells us that we will have eternal life; that God will never stop loving us. Through the death and resurrection of his son, we are the heirs of endless love!

I accepted Christ at an early age. I have disappointed Him many, many times. If it is possible, my actions, my sin have brought tears to His face. Yet, the Bible tells me in John 6:37: All that the Father giveth me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out.

Not only has Christ saved me for eternity, he cares about me now in this present life. In the night-time when I feel so unfulfilled; in the day-time when I am fearful, in the evening when I am so weary; in far away places and in my home, He is there with his loving arms if I but call. Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. 1 Peter 5:7

In the mid 1800s, George Matheson of Scotland was engaged to be married. Before the wedding Matheson found out he was losing his eyesight. His fiancée upon hearing the news broke off the engagement telling him that she could not spend her life with a blind man. Years later, on the evening of the marriage of Matheson’s sister he experienced immense mental anguish. But God spoke to him and within just a few minutes Matheson pinned lyrics to O Love That Will Not Let Me Go. They expressed that while one had stop loving him, God would never stopped loving him.

O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in thee;
I give thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

O light that followest all my way,
I yield my flickering torch to thee;
My heart restores its borrowed ray,
That in thy sunshine’s blaze its day
May brighter, fairer be.

O Joy that seekest me through pain,
I cannot close my heart to thee;
I trace the rainbow through the rain,
And feel the promise is not vain,
That morn shall tearless be.

O Cross that liftest up my head,
I dare not ask to fly from thee;
I lay in dust life’s glory dead,
And from the ground there blossoms red
Life that shall endless be.

Have you called on Christ to save you, to love you, to hold you? If not, why not now. He will never let you go.

20110610-121509.jpg

This entry was posted in Christian Music, Favorite and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O Love That Will Not Let Me Go

  1. Nick Pope says:

    Buster was a wonderful man. I was priviledged to serve with him in the bus minitry at Trinity Baptist Church. He brought many families to church through his bus route. As a result of Buster’s labor numbers of children and adults came to know the Lord Jesus Christ as their Savior. Buster was also a prayer warrior and depended fully upon the Lord. I will always count Buster as one of my dearest mentors in the christian life. Thank you Mike for your blog.

  2. Pingback: Are You Looking for Something? | Hymns in My Heart

Leave a Reply

