Great is Thy Faithfulness


It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. Lametations 3:22-23

This song is a reminder of God’s grace and his care for me. I have a special memory of Great Is Thy Faithfulness. We had been in Kunming, China in 2005 for several days. One night, late, as we were in our hotel room a great sadness came over me. Culture shock had set in and I missed my two other daughters very much. I felt a million miles away from reality and so alone. I think my wife was feeling the same way. God was there but I even felt distant from him. I opened the music library on my laptop and put it on random play. The first song to play was Talia Paris singing Great is They Faithfulness. God spoke to me while the song was playing. I am sure he was trying to speak to me before but I let my condition get in the way. Peace came over me and at least for that lonely evening I felt so comforted; He is our faithful God (Deut. 7:9, Psalms 36:5, Psalms 40:10, Isaiah 49:7, Rev 19:11)!

Have you ever considered the ways in that God is faithful? God is a faithful creator (1 Peter 4:19). His testimony is faithful (Psalms 119:138). His commandments are faithful (Psalms 119:86). God’s word is faithful (2 Timothy 2:11, Titus 3:8). His faithfulness reaches to the heavens (Psalms 89:2 and 5); it was from the beginning (Isaiah 25:1) and surpasses all generations (Psalms 89:2, Psalms 119:90). He is faithful in the morning (Lam. 3:23) and faithful in the night (Psalms 92:2).

God is the faithful Redeemer of those that have believed in Him and He will keep them (me) for eternity (1 Cor. 1:9, 1 Timothy 1:15, Hebrews 2:17, Hebrews 10:23, 1 Peter 1:5). God is such a faithful forgiver (Matt 18:22, 1 John 1:9). God is a faithful witness of our deeds (Jeremiah 42:5, Rev. 1:5, Rev 3:14). He is faithful in protecting his children from evil and destruction (1 Cor. 10:13, 1 Thes. 5:24, 2 Thes 3:3). God is faithful in answering his children’s prayers (Psalms 143:1) and in daily mercies (Lam 3:22-23).

These are only some of His faithful ways. We will not know them all until he reveals them to us when we meet in Heaven which he has faithfully promised (Col. 1:5, 1 Thes. 4:16-17, 1 Peter 1:4-5, Rev 21:3).

Thomas Chisholm was a Methodist minister and school teacher. At some point in his life he fell under poor health eventually moving to New Jersey. While he did not pastor in the latter part of his life Chisholm wrote several songs. I suppose Great is Thy Faithfulness has to rank among the best of those. He wrote this song sometime before 1923 to show that even in poor health God is faithful. Like How Great Thou Art, this song was made popular by George Beverly Shea and the Billy Graham Crusades.

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father;
There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not;
As Thou hast been, Thou forever will be.

Refrain

Great is Thy faithfulness!
Great is Thy faithfulness!
Morning by morning new mercies I see.
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided;
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me!

Summer and winter and springtime and harvest,
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great is Thy Faithfulness

  1. Pingback: We Will Glorify | Hymns in My Heart

Leave a Reply

