Saved by Grace


And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus: That in the ages to come he might shew the exceeding riches of his grace in his kindness toward us through Christ Jesus. Ephesians 2: 6 and 7

I cannot say when I heard the song Saved by Grace first or how it touched me in a special way. I have not heard this song performed much in the last few years though I can’t imagine why. I love the lyrics and the music is devine. The words resonate with the truth of the Bible. Through the grace of God through faith in his son Jesus Christ we will be saved. We are told in Acts 15:11 that But we believe that through the grace of the LORD Jesus Christ we shall be saved. Ephesians 2:8 and 9 says For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast. We are not saved through our own works (Romans 3:27, Romans 11:6, Gal. 2:16). Titus 3:5-7 says Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour; That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life. Call upon Jesus to receive that grace (Romans 10:13).

One day we shall all leave this world. As Titus 3:7 says above, those that are saved by grace shall have eternal life with Jesus Christ. Romans 5:21 says That as sin hath reigned unto death, even so might grace reign through righteousness unto eternal life by Jesus Christ our Lord. That will be a great meeting, to see the one who gave his life for us; our hope: For the hope which is laid up for you in heaven, whereof ye heard before in the word of the truth of the gospel (Col 1:5) and To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory (Col 1:27). We shall be with our savior forever (1 Thes 1:17-18). What a comfort! What truth: In hope of eternal life, which God, that cannot lie, promised before the world began (Titus 1:2). What an inheritance: To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time (1 Peter 1:4-5). Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance (Col 3:24). What confidence: We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord (2 Cor. 5:8)! What a celebration: And he saith unto me, Write, Blessed are they which are called unto the marriage supper of the Lamb (Rev 19:9)!

All of these things await those have been saved by His grace!

Fanny Crosby, blinded at an early age, often wrote about her senses of hearing and seeing, yes seeing, in her poems and hymns. Perhaps in her blindness in her mortal life she had a greater vision of heaven and of the eternal life awaiting. Ms. Crosby penned the words to Saved by Grace at age 71 in 1891. After a minister friend had died suddendly we reflected on what heaven would be like. The deceased minister had spoken on grace; that christians should not fear death as the same grace that teach es us how to live would al so teach us how to die. The story is told that Ms. Crosby answered herself with that upon death her eyes would be opened and that she would see her Saviour face to face.” She penned the words to Saved By Grace.

Some day the silver cord will break,
And I no more as now shall sing;
But oh, the joy when I shall wake
Within the palace of the King!

Refrain: And I shall see Him face to face,
And tell the story—Saved by grace;
And I shall see Him face to face,
And tell the story—Saved by grace.

Some day my earthly house will fall.
I cannot tell how soon ’twill be;
But this I know—my All in All
Has now a place in Heav’n for me.

Some day, when fades the golden sun
Beneath the rosy tinted west,
My blessèd Lord will say, “Well done!”
And I shall enter into rest.

Some day: till then I’ll watch and wait,
My lamp all trimmed and burning bright,
That when my Savior opens the gate,
My soul to Him may take its flight.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saved by Grace

  1. Rhonda Collins says:

    I enjoy Fannie Crosby’s song. I have never heard this one! Beautiful words.

  2. rcottrill says:

    Thanks for posting Fanny Crosby’s beautiful testimony song, “Saved by Grace.” You can learn more about how it came to be on my daily hymn blog, Wordwise Hymns. There is a bit more on the Cyber Hymnal, here…
    http://www.hymntime.com/tch/htm/s/b/y/sbygrace.htm

    And if you’ll excuse a brief “commercial:” With the arrival of fall, we begin to think of the Christmas season up ahead. If you do not have a good book on the subject of our Christmas carols, I encourage you to take a look at mine, Discovering the Songs of Christmas. In it, I discuss the history and meaning of 63 carols and Christmas hymns. The book is available through Amazon, or directly from Jebaire Publishing. (Might make a great gift too!)

  3. Pingback: My Savior First of All | Hymns in My Heart

Leave a Reply

