Constrained By His Love


For the love of Christ constraineth us; because we thus judge, that if one died for all, then were all dead: And that he died for all, that they which live should not henceforth live unto themselves, but unto him which died for them, and rose again. 2 Corinthians 5:14 and 15

Contrained By His Love is one of the newer Christian songs that I really like. I first heard it at the Calvary Baptist Church in Kingston, Tennessee in the 1980s. Bob Sawyer and his daughter performed it occassionally. I later learned the song was written by Tom Hayes, an evangelist from North Carolina who I also got to hear sing the song.

www.freedictionary.com defines “constrain” as To compel by physical, moral, or circumstantial force; oblige. As 1 Cor 5:14 says, Paul was constrained by God’s love. He was not forced, but obliged from such a great love as had been shown by grace of God through the blood of Christ. Once we were bound by sin but now we are the recipients of such love; therefore, shouldn’t we also be obliged, constrained, to love others and to share the Gospel of Christ with others.

We serve God, not out of force or threat, but from love. Our desire should never to serve for personal gain but to bring glory to the one that so lovingly sought us and saved us. Gal 6:14 says But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world. Boast not of what you may accomplish but glorify the Lord who have commended you (2 Cor 10: 16-18). Jesus said in Matthew 16:24, Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

In 2 Kings, a Shunemite woman constrained Elisha to eat bread with her as often as he traveled by (2 Kings 4:8,9). She could not have physically forced him but Elisha saw God’s provision and the woman’s kindness and was so thus obliged. Are you constrained to serve Christ? Are you obliged to tell others for His glory?

I do not have an exact date that Dr. Hayes penned the song but possibly in the early 1980s. The lyrics to Constrained by His Love follow.

You ask me why I serve my King!
I’m constrained by His love.
And why of Him I can now sing?
I’m constrained by His love.

Chorus: Once bound by sin but bound no longer,
Freed by redemption’s plans!
Now bound by love the chord’s much stronger
I’ll serve Him for His love constrains.

You ask me why I boast of His grace!
I’m constrained by His love.
And why I yearn to see His face?
I’m constrained by His love.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Constrained By His Love

  1. Rhonda Collins says:

    I LOVE this song. I bought the sheet music from Tom Hayes the last time he was at Liberty because I want Miranda to learn to play it.
    I am so glad I’m constrained by the love of Christ!

Leave a Reply

