No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus


Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. Hebrews 13:5 and 6

I’ll never forget hearing Dr. Charles Weigle sing No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus in the early 1960s at the Highland Park Baptist Church. He was over 90 years old and had served God for almost seventy years. I am not sure I have ever seen another person as close to the Lord as was Dr. Weigle. This song, which Dr. Weigle wrote, has spoken to my heart on numerous occasions. The sweet words and tender melody are only topped by the loving message.

Jesus Christ cares for us in multiple ways. First, and above all, He is our Savior. Christ gave his life for us that we can be forgiven of our sin and have eternal life with him in Glory. Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross (Phil 2: 6-8). Jesus himself said in Luke 19:10: For the son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost. That person whom he sought after was me and he seeks for you; he seeks after all of us (1 Tim 2: 3-4).

While Christians are called to take up their cross as a servant (James 1:1), Christ cares for us like a true friend. John 15:15 reads Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you. Proverbs 17:17 tells us A friend loveth at all times. Proverbs 18:24 tells us There is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother. That explains Christ perfectly.

As our good and great shepherd (Psalms 23:1; John 10:11; Heb 13:20; 1 Pet 2:25), Christs takes care of our needs and our afflictions. I Peter 5:7 tells us Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. He gives rest to our bodies and to our souls (Psalms 23:2-3). In Matthew 11:28, Jesus said, Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Who else can make do this for you? I know of none other! Taking care of our needs does not mean that we will always give us the outcome we want but he will provide grace to meet every situation. And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness (2 Cor 12:9). Yet, there is more. He also bestows eternal rest to His children. Revelation 14:13 reads And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them. Phil 4:19 tells us But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

I still envision feeble Dr. Weigle at the podium telling about how No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus came to be. He returned home in Florida after an evangelistic meeting. He found a note in the house from his wife saying she could not live a life dedicated to Christ. His wife had taken their young daughter and left for the pleasures of life. Dr. Weigle was stricken with great sadness, doubt and even thought of suicide. He leaned on the Lord again who cared for him. These words came to him:

I would love to tell you what I think of Jesus,
Since I found in Him a friend so strong and true;
I would tell you how He changed my life completely,
He did something that no other friend could do.

Chorus: No one ever cared for me like Jesus,
There’s no other friend so kind as He;
No one else could take the sin and darkness from me,
O how much He cared for me.

All my life was full of sin when Jesus found me,
All my heart was full of misery and woe;
Jesus placed His strong and loving arms about me,
And He led me in the way I ought to go.

Every day He comes to me with new assurance,
More and more I understand His words of love;
But I’ll never know just why He came to save me,
Till some day I see His blessed face above.

Does something trouble your soul today? Does something ail your body? Call on Jesus Christ to take your burden. O how much He cares for you!

This entry was posted in Christian Music, Favorite and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No One Ever Cared for Me Like Jesus

  1. Pingback: Just When I Need Him Most | Hymns in My Heart

  2. Debbie Gross says:

    Memories of Dr. Weigle will always be special ones. This song has helped through some tough times, and when I have attempted to sing it at church I have ended with tears and a testimony.
    Thank you for reminding me that God can take a bad situation in your life and turn it around to be used as a blessing.
    D. Gross

Leave a Reply

