The Doxology


I will praise thee, O LORD, with my whole heart; I will shew forth all thy marvellous works. I will be glad and rejoice in thee (Psalms 9:1).

The Doxology, also known as Praise God for Whom All Blessings Flow, is a short but powerful ancient hymn that praises the triune God. It is said to be the most performed hymn in the history of the Christian church. In my youth, every Sunday service at the Highland Park Baptist Church was began with the congregation singing The Doxology.

I have so much to thank God for, so many blessings. Above all God loves me. Because thy lovingkindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee (Ps 63:3). I will praise His salvation. That I may shew forth all thy praise in the gates of the daughter of Zion: I will rejoice in thy salvation (Ps 9:14). I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and art become my salvation (Ps 118:21). I will praise His name. Every day will I bless thee; and I will praise thy name for ever and ever (Ps 145:2). Let them praise the name of the LORD: for he commanded, and they were created (Ps 148:5).

I will praise Him for all he His works. I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well (Ps 139:14). I will praise Him for His Word that never lies. In God will I praise his word: in the LORD will I praise his word (Ps 56:10). I will praise His strength: The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him (Ps 28:7). He is my provider: The meek shall eat and be satisfied: they shall praise the LORD that seek him: your heart shall live for ever (Ps 22:26). He will be your provider also.

We should praise him at all times. I will bless the LORD at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth (Ps 34:1). To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever (Ps 30:12). Not only should we praise God at all times, we should praise him with our whole heart (Psalms 9:1). I will praise thee, O Lord my God, with all my heart: and I will glorify thy name for evermore (Ps 86:12).

Praise him with your words. And my tongue shall speak of thy righteousness and of thy praise all the day long (Ps 35:28). My soul shall be satisfied as with marrow and fatness; and my mouth shall praise thee with joyful lips (Ps 63:5). Praise him with your song. Praise the LORD with harp: sing unto him with the psaltery and an instrument of ten strings (Ps 33:2). Then will I go unto the altar of God, unto God my exceeding joy: yea, upon the harp will I praise thee, O God my God (Ps 43:4). So will I sing praise unto thy name for ever, that I may daily perform my vows (Ps 61:8). I will praise the name of God with a song, and will magnify him with thanksgiving (Ps 69:30).

Even when we are not feeling so well we should praise him. Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God (Ps 43:5). O let not the oppressed return ashamed: let the poor and needy praise thy name (Ps 74:21).

Whether you or I praise God, He will be praised! According to thy name, O God, so is thy praise unto the ends of the earth: thy right hand is full of righteousness (Ps 48:10). The whole earth shall praise Him. Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all the earth: make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise (Ps 98:4). O praise the LORD, all ye nations: praise him, all ye people (Ps 117:1). All the kings of the earth shall praise thee, O LORD, when they hear the words of thy mouth (Ps 138:4). Everything on earth shall praise him. Let the heaven and earth praise him, the seas, and every thing that moveth therein (Ps 69:34). Praise the LORD from the earth, ye dragons, and all deeps (Ps 148:7). Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD. Praise ye the LORD (Ps 150:6).

He shall be praised in the heavens. And the heavens shall praise thy wonders, O LORD: thy faithfulness also in the congregation of the saints (Ps 89:5). Praise ye the LORD. Praise ye the LORD from the heavens: praise him in the heights. Praise ye him, all his angels: praise ye him, all his hosts. Praise ye him, sun and moon: praise him, all ye stars of light. Praise him, ye heavens of heavens, and ye waters that be above the heavens (Ps 148:1-4). And a voice came out of the throne, saying, Praise our God, all ye his servants, and ye that fear him, both small and great (Rev 19:5).

Great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; and his greatness is unsearchable (Psalms 145:3).

The hymn was written in 1674 by Thomas Ken, an Anglican Bishop. The hymn as we sing today was originally the final verse of two longer hymns entitled Awake, My Soul, and With the Sunand Glory to thee, my God, this night written by Thomas Ken for morning and evening worship, respectively. Over the years the final verse has became known as The Doxology. The words are usually sung to the music Old 100th written in 1551 by Louis Bourgeois. (sources: Wikipedia, Cyberhymnal).

Praise God, from Whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him, all creatures here below;
Praise Him above, ye Heavenly Host;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost. Amen.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

