Behold He Comes!


Behold, he cometh with clouds; and every eye shall see him, and they also which pierced him: and all kindreds of the earth shall wail because of him. Even so, Amen (Revelation 1:7).

Behold He Comes is another song I heard many times in my youth. In fact, I remember from about 9 or 10 years old that Dr. J. R. Faulkner led the entire Highland Park Baptist Church congregation in singing this song every service. They continued to sing it after I left Chattanooga and until Dr. Lee Roberson resigned as pastor.

Behold He Comes is a short, but might chorus. It starts out with bass voices singing “Behold He comes” with each octave repeating the phrase until the song builds to a powerful next line with all octaves in unison singing: And every eye shall see him; Friend will you be ready. And lastly, all the voices sang triumphantly “When Jesus Comes!”

I have not heard the chorus in years but mentally I can hear it without any loss of note or word. Eleanor S. Murray wrote the lyrics and music in 1956 (copyright by Singspiration). I have found a recoding on YouTube of this great song from the 1970s performed by 1600 singing men at Tennessee Temple.

But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him. For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore comfort one another with these words (1 Thes 4:13-18)

 

"Behold He Comes"

 

Source: King James Version of The Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Behold He Comes!

  1. Alex says:

    I grew up at Central Baptist Church in Ocala, FL and our choir also sang this song at the beginning of every service – I believe they still do to this day. It is a beautiful song! I stumbled across your blog while searching for a recording of it, and I was quite surprised that there doesn’t seem to be anything out there! I searched Amazon and google pretty thoroughly with no results except one guy who posted a youtube video of the song on piano – played just as I remember it, I only wish there was a choir singing along. Here it is if you’d like to listen. 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UdsvhuGGUo

  2. Sonja says:

    I also found your blog when looking for this song on the internet and can’t believe no one has ever posted a video of this song being sung! I remember singing it often in my days as a student at TTU.

  3. Rebekah says:

    Eleanor was my grandmother! Thank you for cherishing one of her songs!! I’d love to have a recording of others singing Behold, He Comes!

  4. Our family knew Jack and Eleanor Murray personally…..wonderful couple who loved the Lord and served him faithfully. Always LOVED singing Behold He Comes when I was at Temple. Dr. J. R. Falkner led it with great gusto! It was always a ‘chill bumps’ moment to sing it…..a minute preview of heavenly singing. I would love to hear a recording of HPBC singing it.

  5. I am a 1981 Graduate of TTU (BRE). I have been looking for a copy of this on video for years. Thanks and God bless you!

  6. Jenifer H says:

    I attended an ACE school from 7th grade through high school graduation and went to regional, state, and international conventions in the early to mid- ’80s. I remember singing Behold He Comes at international conventions in huge arenas with thousands of other students and adults belting it out at the top of our lungs. It is indescribable to this day what that sounded like and felt like. So many different people, ethnicities, cultures, backgrounds, religions, denominations, life experiences, beliefs, personalities, socioeconomic backgrounds, ages. But for 60-90 seconds we were one voice, one body, one heart, proclaiming the imminent coming of the Master and Creator of the universe. I would imagine most felt like I did, that it was absolutely possible we would blow the top right off of that arena and God himself would descend in front of our eyes. The roar of voices was deafening and we could almost hear that trumpet sound and the skies splitting. Incredible and unforgettable.

Leave a Reply

