Lead Me Gently Home, Father


For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me (Psalms 31:3).

Unlike many of the hymns in my heart I do not remember hearing Lead Me Gently Home, Father as a child. I remember first hearing the hymn sang on a Gaither reunion television special and since have heard the song several times on the Bible Broadcasting Network. Yet from the first hearing Lead Me Gently Home, Father has touched my heart and has found a place there.

The first Bible scripture my mother taught me was Psalms 23. It’s theme is that God leads his children in life and through death. The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever (Ps 23:1-6).

Our prayer should be that he lead us in his righteousness: Lead me, O LORD, in thy righteousness because of mine enemies; make thy way straight before my face (Ps 5:8). Our prayer should be that he reveal sin we have. Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts: And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting (Ps 139:23-24). Our prayer should be to wait on Him, not getting ahead of His hand and that we not seek our on path: Shew me thy ways, O LORD; teach me thy paths. Lead me in thy truth, and teach me: for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day (Ps 25:4-5).

The lyrics and music of Lead Me Gently Home, Father was written in 1879 by Will L. Thompson.  Mr. Thompson is the author of the popular hymns Softly and Tenderly Jesus is Calling and Jesus is All the World to Me.

Lead me gently home, Father,
Lead me gently home,
When life’s toils are ended
And parting days have come;
Sin no more shall tempt me,
Ne’er from Thee I’ll roam,
If Thou’lt only lead me, Father,
Lead me gently home.

Chorus: Lead me gently home, Father,
Lead me gently
Lest I fall upon the wayside,
Lead me gently home.

Lead me gently home, Father,
Lead me gently home,
In life’s darkest hours, Father,
When life’s troubles come;
Keep my feet from wand’ring,
Lest from Thee I roam,
Lest I fall upon the wayside,
Lead me gently home.

Sources: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/l/e/leadmegh.htm, King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

