I’m Amazed


And they were all amazed, insomuch that they questioned among themselves, saying, What thing is this? what new doctrine is this? for with authority commandeth he even the unclean spirits, and they do obey him (Mark 1:.27)

I love to listen to the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir sing I’m Amazed.  Sometimes I put my iPod on repeat song and listen to it over and over and over. Unlike many of the hymns in my heart, I only learned of I’m Amazed in 2010. I first heard it on B97.5 radio, a secular station in Knoxville but which plays worship and praise music on Sunday mornings.  As I was driving to church I’m Amazed came on the radio; I was almost spellbound.  After church I purchased the song.  I keep it in my heart.

The main theme of the song is Christ’s redemption of man through His own blood: And from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, and the first begotten of the dead, and the prince of the kings of the earth. Unto him that loved us, and washed us from our sins in his own blood, And hath made us kings and priests unto God and his Father; to him be glory and dominion for ever and ever. Amen (Rev 1:5-6).

No one knew how alone I was feeling
And the emptiness I tried so hard to hide.
Though I laughed and said my life was fine without you.
I was covering up the secret tears I cried.
Then one day someone told me of your mercy,
And the love you showed on a hill called Calvary.
There you died and purchase my redemption
When you broke sins power and set my spirit free.

Chorus: I’m amazed that you love me.
I’m amazed how you care.
Through your precious blood
I’ve found pardon
And my sins are washed.
They’re all washed away.
All my sins are washed away.

Yes, it’s true there’ve been days when I failed you.
Lord you know the many times I’ve gone astray,
But I learned your love is stronger than my weakness
And your ear is open every time I pray.
No one else has ever cared for me like you lord.
Other friends could ever be as close to me.
I’m not afraid to face the problems of tomorrow
Knowing you are everything I’ll ever need.

The lyrics and music to I’m Amazed were written by Carol Cymbala, director Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir and wife of the church’s pastor. Ms. Cymbala has provided this account of the song’s writing. I’m Amazed came to her after a rare weekend speaking engagement before an audience of choir directors. She said “I thought I had about 30 minutes to speak, but it turned out to be more like two hours, so I began to share with them how a choir was more than singing just to be singing, how we’re suppose to reach out with our song and our message, beyond the walls of the church, to the lovely and the unlovely alike….”

I’m amazed that you love me
I’m amazed how you care
Through your precious blood, I found pardon
And my sins are washed,
They’re all washed away…

Then Carol shared the story of David Ruffin, a homeless man whose dramatic story of redemption is just one of the powerful stories to unfold from the ministry of the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir. “David slept outside our church, on the sidewalk,” she recalls. “His hair was all matted and he a foul smell from the street—absolutely filthy. Then one Easter Sunday morning, he heard the choir singing, so he picked himself up and came through the door. At the end of the service, my husband gave the altar call, and David walked down the aisle. My husband said to him, ‘How much do you want?’ thinking the indigent was looking for money. ‘I don’t want your money,’ David replied. ‘I want what you have. Whatever this is, I want it.’ He prayed and accepted Christ that very day.”

And now, I’m Amazed by the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir featuring Jason Crabb.

Sources: http://www.cbn.com/cbnmusic/Artists/BTC.aspx, King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music, Special Presentation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

