‘Til the Storm Passes By


For thou hast been a strength to the poor, a strength to the needy in his distress, a refuge from the storm, a shadow from the heat, when the blast of the terrible ones is as a storm against the wall (Isaiah 25:4).

We are certainly living through troubled times; financial failures, unrest in the many countries, war, earthquakes and a crisis of nuclear proportion in Japan. These are terrible storms and we all are traveling through personal storms too, some of our own making. Fighting raging storms is very tiring, depressing but for Christians we have a Captain of the storm, if we only trust him to lead us through, Jesus Christ.

We are told about Christ’s disciplines facing a storm while in a boat on the Sea of Galilee. They were very afraid yet Christ slept in the boat. He rose and commanded the storm to cease. And he was in the hinder part of the ship, asleep on a pillow: and they awake him, and say unto him, Master, carest thou not that we perish? And he arose, and rebuked the wind, and said unto the sea, Peace, be still. And the wind ceased, and there was a great calm (Mark 4:38-39).

We are given a similar description of His care in our storms of life in Psalms 107:23-30: They that go down to the sea in ships, that do business in great waters; Let those who go to sea, consider and adore the Lord. Mariners have their business upon the tempestuous ocean, and there witness deliverances of which others cannot form an idea. How seasonable it is at such a time to pray! This may remind us of the terrors and distress of conscience many experience, and of those deep scenes of trouble which many pass through, in their Christian course. Yet, in answer to their cries, the Lord turns their storm into a calm, and causes their trials to end in gladness.

God has not said we will not have to travel through storms but He has said and shown He will lead us through; He offers peace. Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid (John 14:27).

Are you going through you own personal storm? Christ is ready to help you through. Lean on him. If you are not a Christian, trust on him now (Romans 10:9). He has promised to never leave you nor forsake you in Hebrews 13:5.

My earliest memory of hearing ‘Til the Storm Passes By was at Trinity Baptist Church in Chattanooga where the Gaithers sang it. I’ve heard the song countless times since, never enough. Mosie Lister penned the lyrics and music of ‘Til the Storm Passes By in 1958.

In the dark of the midnight have I oft hid my face,
While the storm howls above me and there’s no hiding place.
‘Mid the crash of the thunder, precious Lord, hear my cry,
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

CHORUS
‘Til the storm passes over,
‘Til the thunder sounds no more,
‘Til the clouds roll forever from the sky,
Hold me fast, let me stand
In the hollow of Thy hand;
Keep me safe ’til the storm passes by.

Many times Satan whispered, “There is no need to try,
For there’s no end of sorrow; There’s no hope by and by.”
But I know Thou art with me, and tomorrow I’ll rise
Where the storm never darkens the skies.

When the long night has ended, and the storms come no more,
Let me stand in Thy presence on that bright, peaceful shore.
In that land where the tempest never comes, Lord may I
Dwell with Thee, when the storm passes by.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Til the Storm Passes By

  1. Pingback: Jesus, Lover of My Soul | Hymns in My Heart

  2. Pingback: Jesus, Savior Pilot Me | Hymns in My Heart

  3. NELDA R. FRENCH says:

    JESUS IS ALL THE WORLD TO ME

Leave a Reply

