There is a Fountain Filled with Blood


And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely (Revelation 21:6).

If there was one hymn that could serve as the anthem of redemption, I suppose There is a Fountain Filled with Blood could be it. I have heard this great hymn of the faith in every church body I have belonged too on numerous times from my earliest childhood memory. I have heard it sang across denominational lines. The song’s main theme is the blood of Christ which is available to wash away the sins of whoever calls upon him, and being washed in His blood is the only way to be forgiven. The Bible gives the plan of blood atonement throughout and presents Christ, whose shed bled is sufficient. And the blood shall be to you for a token upon the houses where ye are: and when I see the blood, I will pass over you, and the plague shall not be upon you to destroy you, when I smite the land of Egypt (Ex 12:13). And almost all things are by the law purged with blood; and without shedding of blood is no remission (Heb 9: 22). We have an altar, whereof they have no right to eat which serve the tabernacle. For the bodies of those beasts, whose blood is brought into the sanctuary by the high priest for sin, are burned without the camp. Wherefore Jesus also, that he might sanctify the people with his own blood, suffered without the gate (Heb 13:10-12).

Everyone has sinned; there is none of us without sin. That sin must be cleansed. For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be propitiation through faith in his blood (Rom 3:23-25a). Forasmuch as ye know that ye were not redeemed with corruptible things, as silver and gold, from your vain conversation received by tradition from your fathers; But with the precious blood of Christ, as of a lamb without blemish and without spot (1 Pet 1:18-19). (Christ) In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins (Col 1:14). There are four lines of the lyrics of There is a Fountain Filled with Blood that sound out to my heart. In fact tears of joy streamed as I recounted and typed these first two: Dear dying Lamb, “Thy precious blood shall never lose its power till all the ransomed church of God be saved, to sin no more.” I have been ransomed!

Why did God provide a fountain of life for us? The answer is simple, He loves us. The other two lines of lyrics that mean so much to me are: “E’er since, by faith, I saw the stream Thy flowing wounds supply, Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die.” Oh what love that He died for me! How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings. They shall be abundantly satisfied with the fatness of thy house; and thou shalt make them drink of the river of thy pleasures. For with thee is the fountain of life: in thy light shall we see light (Ps 36:7-9). Yes, God Himself is the river of life. There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High (Ps 46:4). O LORD, the hope of Israel, all that forsake thee shall be ashamed, and they that depart from me shall be written in the earth, because they have forsaken the LORD, the fountain of living waters (Jer 17:13). Have you drank from the fountain of life; has the blood of that fountain been applied to your sins? He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water (John 7:38). The fountain of live is freely flowing today. If your soul is thirsty please come to the fountain and drink. And the Spirit and the bride say, Come. And let him that heareth say, Come. And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely (Rev 22:17).

I’ve struggled to finish this post; the knowledge that Christ endured such suffering for me makes me cry continuously. Thank you Lord Jesus! There is a Fountain Filled with Blood was written by William Cowper in 1772. Interestingly, Mr. Cowper once suffered from insanity, depression and had recurring doubts of his own personal salvation. Read more about William Cowper in the listed sources. Over time the lyrics have been sang with 6 different tunes though I like the anonymous 19th century American camp meeting tune best (which is used in the YouTube video below).

There is a fountain filled with blood drawn from Emmanuel’s veins;
And sinners plunged beneath that flood lose all their guilty stains.
Lose all their guilty stains, lose all their guilty stains;
And sinners plunged beneath that flood lose all their guilty stains.

The dying thief rejoiced to see that fountain in his day;
And there have I, though vile as he, washed all my sins away.
Washed all my sins away, washed all my sins away;
And there have I, though vile as he, washed all my sins away.

Dear dying Lamb, Thy precious blood shall never lose its power
Till all the ransomed church of God be saved, to sin no more.
Be saved, to sin no more, be saved, to sin no more;
Till all the ransomed church of God be saved, to sin no more.

E’er since, by faith, I saw the stream Thy flowing wounds supply,
Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die.
And shall be till I die, and shall be till I die;
Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die.

Then in a nobler, sweeter song, I’ll sing Thy power to save,
When this poor lisping, stammering tongue lies silent in the grave.
Lies silent in the grave, lies silent in the grave;
When this poor lisping, stammering tongue lies silent in the grave.

Lord, I believe Thou hast prepared, unworthy though I be,
For me a blood bought free reward, a golden harp for me!
’Tis strung and tuned for endless years, and formed by power divine,
To sound in God the Father’s ears no other name but Thine.

Sources: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/t/f/tfountfb.htm, http://www.truthinhistory.org/there-is-a-fountain-filled-with-blood.html, http://www.cyberhymnal.org/bio/c/o/w/cowper_w.htm, King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

