Gloryland


And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof (Revelation 21:23).

Heaven is wonderful topic but one in which I am know little. My children are always asking me questions about Heaven; will there be animals; how old will people be; how fast will we be able to move? You get the idea! Interesting questions but most I do not have an answer for. Yet, there are somethings I know about Heaven. The lyrics of Gloryland state some of them backed by God’s word and of which there are more. Allow me to consider these truths.

God is in Heaven and sits on His throne. He shall dwell on high: his place of defence shall be the munitions of rocks: bread shall be given him; his waters shall be sure. Thine eyes shall see the king in his beauty: they shall behold the land that is very far off (Is 33:16-17). Therefore are they before the throne of God, and serve him day and night in his temple: and he that sitteth on the throne shall dwell among them (Rev 7:15).

Christ, the Lamb of God, is in Heaven. And I beheld, and, lo, in the midst of the throne and of the four beasts, and in the midst of the elders, stood a Lamb as it had been slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God sent forth into all the earth (Rev 5:6). For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes (Rev 7:17).

Our home is in Heaven. For we know that if our earthly house of this tabernacle were dissolved, we have a building of God, an house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens (2 Cor 5:1). In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also (John 14:2-3). For our conversation (citizenship) is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ: Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself (Phil 3:20-21). Our treasure is in Heaven. Rejoice, and be exceeding glad: for great is your reward in heaven (Matt 5:12a). Rejoice ye in that day, and leap for joy: for, behold, your reward is great in heaven (Luke 6:23a). Jesus said unto him, If thou wilt be perfect, go and sell that thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come and follow me (Matt 19:21).

Our promise is Heaven, whether through death or by His coming. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord (1 Thes 4:16-17). We shall dwell with God forever. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever (Ps 23:6). And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal (Matt 25:46). My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand (John 10:27-28).

In Gloryland we shall have God’s likeness. As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness (Ps 17:15). Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is (1 John 3:2). Wonderfully, we will recognize our family members in Heaven. I know this because King David said he could go be with his son, in Heaven. But now he is dead, wherefore should I fast? can I bring him back again? I shall go to him, but he shall not return to me (2 Sam 12:23). Have you lost family members and friends to Heaven? Won’t it be great to see them again!

Well so far we have seen some mighty truths about Heaven as presented in the Holy Bible but there are some joyful truths too. Isn’t it good to know we will worship God and the Lamb! After this I beheld, and, lo, a great multitude, which no man could number, of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues, stood before the throne, and before the Lamb, clothed with white robes, and palms in their hands; And cried with a loud voice, saying, Salvation to our God which sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb (Rev 7:9-10). And after these things I heard a great voice of much people in heaven, saying, Alleluia; Salvation, and glory, and honour, and power, unto the Lord our God (Rev 19:1).

There will be no crime in Heaven, no need to lock our doors. And the gates of it shall not be shut at all by day: for there shall be no night there. And they shall bring the glory and honour of the nations into it (Rev 21:25-26). There will be no sin in Heaven. And there shall in no wise enter into it any thing that defileth, neither whatsoever worketh abomination, or maketh a lie: but they which are written in the Lamb’s book of life (Rev 21:27).

There will be no sickness, no dying, no tears of watching loved ones die, no more death in Heaven, no graves. And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away (Rev 21:4). And there shall be no more curse: but the throne of God and of the Lamb shall be in it; and his servants shall serve him: And they shall see his face; and his name shall be in their foreheads (Rev 22:2-3).

There will be no night, no darkness in Heaven. And there shall be no night there; and they need no candle, neither light of the sun; for the Lord God giveth them light: and they shall reign for ever and ever (Rev 22:5). And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof (Rev 21:23).

So, my knowledge of Heaven, Gloryland, is limited. Yet if the truths given here are just a taste I’m not sure our minds could fathom all that God has in store!

The legendary “man of constant sorrow,” Dr. Ralph Stanley, wrote the lyrics and music of Gloryland sometime between 1946 and 1971. The Primitive Quartet has popularized the song. The band Carbon Leaf has performed it in recent time. I first heard Gloryland sang, at a church, in the late 1970s. The sweet song was sang just this past Sunday at my home church, Liberty Baptist.

If you have friends in Gloryland,
Who left because of pain
Thank God up there, they’ll die no more
They’ll suffer not again.

Then weep not friends, I’m goin’ home
Up there we’ll die no more
No coffins will be made up there
No graves on that bright shore

The lame will walk in Gloryland
The blind up there will see
The deaf in Gloryland will hear
The dumb will talk to me

The doctor will not have to call
The undertaker, no
There’ll be no pain up there to bear
Just walk the streets of gold

We’ll need no sun in Gloryland
The moon and stars won?t shine
For Christ Himself is light up there
He reigns of love divine

Then weep not friends, I’m goin’ home
Up there we’ll die no more
No coffins will be made up there
No graves on that bright shore.

Sources: http://www.fretnotgospel.com/gloryland.html, http://www.answers.com/topic/ralph-stanley, King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

