I Need Thee Every Hour


But I am poor and needy: make haste unto me, O God: thou art my help and my deliverer; O LORD, make no tarrying (Psalms 71:5).

I cannot remember when or where I first heard I Need Thee Every Hour; seems like it’s been in my heart forever. I am amazed how a particular song can lay dormant in my mind, in my heart, for long periods of time but ebb just at the right time; such is the case with I Need Thee Every Hour. I have been struggling lately with inner conflicts, thoughts and more. As I was dwelling on one of those personal conflicts today, I Need Thee Every Hour awoke in my heart. I have been meditating on it off and on and reflecting on Bible scripture about the Lord’s provisions for my, for our, daily lives.

God is there to meet our needs every day. Bow down thine ear, O LORD, hear me: for I am poor and needy. Be merciful unto me, O Lord: for I cry unto thee daily (Pa 86:1,3). He is there in the day and during the night to help, if we but ask. O LORD God of my salvation, I have cried day and night before thee: Let my prayer come before thee: incline thine ear unto my cry; For my soul is full of troubles: and my life draweth nigh unto the grave (Ps 88:1-3). Every morning He is there to start all over again. It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him (Lam 3:22-24). Yet, His faithfulness to meet our needs lasts all day to the night. It is a good thing to give thanks unto the LORD, and to sing praises unto thy name, O most High: To shew forth thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night (Ps 92:1-2).

When we are troubled, conflicted, He is there. In the day of my trouble I will call upon thee: for thou wilt answer me (Ps 86:7). When we are down, depressed, He is there. For I am poor and needy, and my heart is wounded within me (Ps 109:22). Do you seek His help in that time of need? When we are in the midst of sin, when we are in sin, He is there. Withhold not thou thy tender mercies from me, O LORD: let thy lovingkindness and thy truth continually preserve me. For innumerable evils have compassed me about: mine iniquities have taken hold upon me, so that I am not able to look up; they are more than the hairs of mine head: therefore my heart faileth me. Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me: O LORD, make haste to help me (Ps 40:11-13). Seek His deliverance.

When we are heartbroken He is there. The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised, to preach the acceptable year of the Lord (Luke 4:18-19). He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds (Ps 147:3). In our time of pain Christ will give us peace, if we accept it. Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid (John 14:27).

The Lord is near to help our every need but our first and most important need is that as sinners we fall so short of the righteousness of God. There is no way we can provide a solution to this need on own on. But we do not have to do it on own on. Jesus Christ, God’s only begotten Son, gave Himself for us. John 3:16 says For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. Further, John 6:35 tells us: And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. Our need is great; only Christ can supply that need. Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me (John 14:6).

In our daily walk with responsibilities, trials and even joys God is ready to help us with our needs. We should be ever taking our every need to Christ. Pray without ceasing (1 Thes 5:17). Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need (Heb 4:16).

God can meet my needs and yours. But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus(Phil 4:19). He can meet my current need of personal conflict. What need do you have? Have you taken it to Christ in prayer? Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (1 Pet 5:6-7).

The lyrics, short of the chorus, to I Need Thee Every Hour were penned by Annie Hawks in 1872. Robert Lowery wrote the chorus and the music for the hymn also in 1872. Cyberhymnal gives the following account. “Some years lat er, af ter the death of her husband, Hawks wrote:I did not un der stand at first why this hymn had touched the great throb bing heart of hu man i ty. It was not un til long af ter, when the sha dow fell over my way, the sha dow of a great loss, that I un der stood some thing of the com fort ing pow er in the words which I had been per mit ted to give out to others in my hour of sweet seren i ty and peace.”

I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.

Chorus: I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee;
O bless me now, my Savior,
I come to Thee.

I need Thee every hour, stay Thou nearby;
Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.

I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is in vain.

I need Thee every hour; teach me Thy will;
And Thy rich promises in me fulfill.

I need Thee every hour, most Holy One;
O make me Thine indeed, Thou blessèd Son.

Sources: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/i/n/ineedteh.htm; King James Version of the Holy Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Need Thee Every Hour

  1. Pingback: There is Still Hope | Hymns in My Heart

Leave a Reply

