Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me


And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose (Romans 8:28).

As I head into a new year, many uncertainties await I am sure. I have no promise of tomorrow or what may be in store. I will, I already do, have many doubts. The economy is not so great, what sickness awaits? I just do not know and what good does worry do! Jesus is there, if I and you but let him, to see us safely through. This message is lovely presented in the hymn Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me.

We have these comforting words from God’s word: Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. Remember them which have the rule over you, who have spoken unto you the word of God: whose faith follow, considering the end of their conversation. Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and today, and for ever (Heb 13:5-8).

As we go forward into 2012, to face joys, to face trials, to face life’s race and all that can bring, as we come upon storms and disappointments, let us remember God’s promise. For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end (Jer 29:11).

Ed­ward Hop­per wrote Jesus, Savior, Pilot Me based on Luke 8:22-25. The song was first published in The Sail­or’s Mag­a­zine in 1871. The music, Pilot, was written by John E. Gould.

The web source: Scripture and Music gives this account. Edward Hopper was a Presbyterian minister with an honorary Doctor of Divinity degree. His most fruitful ministry, however, was with the sailors at the small Church of the Sea and Land in the New York harbor area, where he ministered until his death. Hopper wrote this text especially for the spiritual needs of these sailors from around the world; it became their favorite hymn. The hymn uses only three of the original six verses written by Dr. Hopper. Edward Hopper died at the age of 70 as he was sitting peacefully in his study, pencil in hand, working on a new poem about heaven. At his funeral this tribute was given: “Suddenly the gentle, affectionate spirit of Edward Hopper entered the heavenly port, as he had requested—safely piloted by that never-failing friend, Jesus, whose divine voice was still tenderly whispering to him, ‘Fear not, I will pilot thee.’”

I wish each of you a happy new year and to be the happiest, let Him pilot you.

Jesus, Savior, pilot me
Over life’s tempestuous sea;
Unknown waves before me roll,
Hiding rock and treacherous shoal.
Chart and compass come from Thee;
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

While th’Apostles’ fragile bark
Struggled with the billows dark,
On the stormy Galilee,
Thou didst walk upon the sea;
And when they beheld Thy form,
Safe they glided through the storm.

Though the sea be smooth and bright,
Sparkling with the stars of night,
And my ship’s path be ablaze
With the light of halcyon days,
Still I know my need of Thee;
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

When the darkling heavens frown,
And the wrathful winds come down,
And the fierce waves, tossed on high,
Lash themselves against the sky,
Jesus, Savior, pilot me,
Over life’s tempestuous sea.

As a mother stills her child,
Thou canst hush the ocean wild;
Boisterous waves obey Thy will,
When Thou sayest to them, “Be still!”
Wondrous Sovereign of the sea,
Jesus, Savior, pilot me.

When at last I near the shore,
And the fearful breakers roar
’Twixt me and the peaceful rest,
Then, while leaning on Thy breast,
May I hear Thee say to me,
“Fear not, I will pilot thee.”

Sources: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/j/s/jspilotm.htm, http://www.scriptureandmusic.com/Music/Text_Files/Jesus_Savior_Pilot_Me.html, King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

