Beyond the Sunset


For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep (1 Thessalonians 4:15).

Today as I thought of my dear mother, this sound came up from the deep of my heart. Beyond the Sunset was one of my mother’s favorite hymns; and she loved to hear Georgia Webb Gentry sing it. While I was very young I can still remember Miss Gentry singing the song on our record player with her canary chirping in harmonic bliss. Miss Gentry had a very unique voice; wish I could find my single recoding of her, is quite a treasure.

I remember my mother talking about Beyond the Sunset and more so its topic, Heaven, often. Today, while I miss her greatly she is celebrating with her own mother, Miss Gentry, her favorite pastor Lee Roberson and so many more. It will not be that long that I will join her. We all have an appointment with death, you too. I hope you are ready. And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment (Heb 9:27).

I love you mama.

20120513-193431.jpg

Beyond the Sunset was written by Vir­gil P. and Blanche Kerr Brock in 1936.

Beyond the sunset, O blissful morning
When with our Saviour heaven’s begun
Earth’s toiling ended, O glorious dawning
Beyond the sunset when day is done.

Beyond the sunset, no clouds will gather
No storms will threaten, no fears annoy
O day of gladness, O day unending
Beyond the sunset eternal joy.

Beyond the sunset, a hand will guide me
To God the Father whom I adore
His glorious presence, His words of welcome
Will be my portion on that fair shore.

Beyond the sunset, O glad reunion
With our dear loved ones who’ve gone before
In that fair homeland we’ll know no parting
Beyond the sunset forever more.

Sources: King James Version of the Bible, http://www.cyberhymnal.org/bio/b/r/o/brock_vp.htm

This entry was posted in Christian Music, Special Presentation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

