Consider the Lilies


Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these (Luke 12:27).

Do you fret; are you a worrier? I know I am. Consider the Lilies speaks to that fleshy problem. I first heard Consider the Lilies at a church I attended in Marietta, Georgia in 1980. The song was rather popular on Southern Gospel stations then; I often heard The Hemphills sing it and quickly grew to love the words, melody and message.

The message of Consider the Lilies rightly tells about God’s care for His children and His provision. Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they? Which of you by taking thought can add one cubit unto his stature? And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin: And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith (Matt 6:25-30)?

In the midst of trials and tribulations He offers peace. These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world (John 16:33).
Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid (John 14:27).

God is our refuge from the storms of life. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble (Psalm 46:1). But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble (Psalm 59:16). He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved. In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God (Psalm 62:6-7).

Friend, you may have a bigger need than earthly burdens. How is your relationship with God? Have you trusted in Jesus Christ, the only way to God. As Consider the Lilies says, may I introduce him to you. He lives and wants to give you ultimate healing – eternal life. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16). For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved (Rom 10:13).

I know it is easy to say and harder to practice, but instead of worrying, take your cares, trials and burdens to God. Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (1 Pet 5:7).

20120604-223345.jpg

Joel Hemphill wrote the words and music to Consider the Lilies in 1977 (copyright Hemphill Music Company).

Consider the lilies they don’t toil nor spin
And there’s not a king with more splendor than them
Consider the sparrow they don’t plant or sow
But they’re fed by the Master who watches them grow.

We have a Heavenly Father above
With eyes full of mercy
And a heart full of love
He really cares when
Your head is bowed low
Consider the lilies and then you will know.

Now may I introduce you to this friend of mine
Who hangs out the stars and tells the sun when to shine
And kisses the flowers each morning with dew
But He’s not too busy to care about you.

We have a Heavenly Father above
With eyes full of mercy
And a heart full of love
He really cares when
Your head is bowed low
Consider the lilies and then you will know.
Yes, consider the lilies and then you will know.

Source: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Consider the Lilies

  1. Teresa says:

    Love this song, and loved your compilation of the Word, as it comes at a very needed time…(God always provides!) I must ask, are the trees lining the road oak or maple? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

