The Loveliness of Christ


His mouth is most sweet: yea, he is altogether lovely. This is my beloved, and this is my friend, O daughters of Jerusalem (Song of Solomon 5:16).

There are some hymns, though Biblical based, that for whatever reasons have mostly stay in the hymnal or at the publisher desk. The Loveliness of Christ is one of those. I love that hymn! I remembering hearing the hymn sang as a young boy in church, and just a few times on the radio. The Loveliness of Christ was one of the late hymnist Alfred B. Smith’s favorite hymns. I can understand why. The lyrics so eloquently describe the amazing beauty of our world and then so rightly says those visions do not begin to describe how lovely our Lord is. Besides being so truthful the lyrics are a poetic masterpiece.

I thought it would be good to share a few of Bible verses that describe the loveliness of our Lord.

My beloved is white and ruddy, the chiefest among ten thousand. His head is as the most fine gold, his locks are bushy, and black as a raven. His eyes are as the eyes of doves by the rivers of waters, washed with milk, and fitly set. His cheeks are as a bed of spices, as sweet flowers: his lips like lilies, dropping sweet smelling myrrh. His hands are as gold rings set with the beryl: his belly is as bright ivory overlaid with sapphires. His legs are as pillars of marble, set upon sockets of fine gold: his countenance is as Lebanon, excellent as the cedars (SoS 5:10-15).

I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys (SoS 2:1).

And He shall be as an hiding place from the wind, and a covert from the tempest; as rivers of water in a dry place, as the shadow of a great rock in a weary land (Is 32:2).

Give unto the LORD the glory due unto his name; worship the LORD in the beauty of holines (Ps 29:2)

His branches shall spread, and his beauty shall be as the olive tree, and his smell as Lebanon (Hos 14:6).

Behold my servant, whom I uphold; mine elect, in whom my soul delighteth (Is 42:1a).

Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life (John 8:12).

In him was life; and the life was the light of men (John 1:4).

I Jesus have sent mine angel to testify unto you these things in the churches. I am the root and the offspring of David, and the bright and morning star (Rev 22:16).

Who being the brightness of his glory, and the express image of his person, and upholding all things by the word of his power, when he had by himself purged our sins, sat down on the right hand of the Majesty on high; Being made so much better than the angels, as he hath by inheritance obtained a more excellent name than they (Heb 1:3-4).

I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty (Rev 1:8).

I could go on for some time. The Loveliness of Christ was written by Herbert Buffum in 1922. You may read a biography here. Mr. Buffum was a very gifted hymn writer but profited little in this life from his almost 150 works which include He Abides, I’m Going Through, and Isn’t He Wonderful (published after his death). I hope you like The Loveliness of Christ as much as I do.

Could we catch the glist’ning of the dew or snow-flake
Or the rainbow colors painted on the clouds
Add to these the brightness of the stars and moonlight
And the mantle white which mountain peaks enshroud
Then if we could catch the glitter of each jewel
From the earth or gathered from the briny sea
Blend them altogether in one mighty prism
Still the loveliness of Christ is more to me.

Chorus: He is altogether lovely. He’a the fairest of the fair.
And on Him alone through life I can depend.
Oh all language fails completely when I try to tell the world
Of the loveliness of Christ, my Lord and Friend.

Did you ever see a baby smile on waking,
or behold the mother-light in eyes of love
Something which no artist yet was able
To portray unless inspired from above
Yet my soul has seen a vision quite immortal
Far beyond the power of human eyes to see
Something sweeter, grander, holier and lasting
Is the loveliness of Jesus Christ to me.

I have reveled in the glory of the subset
And the blending of God’s colors at the dawn
I have marveled at the plumage of the flowers
And I’ve thrilled listening to the night bird’s song
I have passed through lanes with orange perfume laden
Till enraptured in its magic power I’d be
Could some way be found to gather these and blend them
Still the loveliness of Christ is more to me
.

Source: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

