God Bless America


God be merciful unto us, and bless us; and cause his face to shine upon us (Psalm 67:1).

My dear mother instilled a love for God Bless America. She told me how it had been both a comfort and a rallying force in the second world war, coming after the great depression. She told me how the song embodied patriotism but more so beautifully portrayed how God had blessed America and that he will continue to if we honor him. That was so many years ago but I do believe God has continued to bless our great country.

A few people have recorded God Bless America included Celine Dion but none have delivered like Kate Smith. To my mother, God Bless America and Kate Smith were inseparable. As most know, the words and music were written by probably the greatest song writer in American history, Irving Berlin. I like many of his works but none better than God Bless America. Irving Berlin was a devout Jew and realized how much the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob had blessed our country. It is said that God Bless America was the favorite song of Great Britain’s Winston Churchill. Sadly at least one person, Woody Guthrie, did not care for Berlin’s song and wrote a response at the end of the war, This Land is my Land, a good American folk song in its own right. Yet, God Bless America goes stirs one’s heart and kindles the patriotic embers. As Kate Smith said, “It’s a song that will never die.”

God Bless America is another real-world demonstration of the Judeo-Christian heritage and foundation of our country. Thank you God for blessing America and may you continue to do so. As my mother requested, so do I.

While the storm clouds gather far across the sea,
Let us swear allegiance to a land that’s free,
Let us all be grateful for a land so fair,
As we raise our voices in a solemn prayer.

God bless America,
Land that I love.
Stand beside her, and guide her
Through the night with a light from above.
From the mountains, to the prairies,
To the oceans, white with foam
God bless America, My home sweet home
God bless America, My home sweet home.

Sources: King James Version of the Bible, Song, Irving Berlin

This entry was posted in Patriotic music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God Bless America

  1. Elizabeth Rodriguez says:

    I will never forget singing this every single evening at camp when I was a child. I missed my mom while I was there, and this brought me great comfort. God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

