When He Was on the Cross I Was on His Mind


All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on him the iniquity of us all. He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth: he is brought as a lamb to the slaughter, and as a sheep before her shearers is dumb, so he openeth not his mouth (Isaiah 53:6-7).

I first heard When He Was on the Cross (I Was on His Mind) just a few months ago at Liberty Baptist, sung by Brenda G. The song has never let me go. The hymn is very moving in words but the message is the very essence of the gospel. You and I, being sinners, we’re without hope but Christ gave His life for us. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Rom 5:8). Christ’s sacrificial death for us was prophesied in Genesis after Adam sinned. Isaiah 53 tells us that He would give Himself for us.

On the cross where Jesus paid the price with His own blood for all sin He looked into the future and saw our need. He did it for you and for me. As He died for each of us, you must make the personal choice of receiving His gift of love; redemption. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved. He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God (John 3:16-18). What will you do?

Thank you Lord for seeing me on the cross and giving Yourself as the sacrifice for my sin. Oh what love!

When He Was on the Cross (I Was on His Mind) was written by Ronald Payne and Ronnie Hinson, copyright 1984 by Word in Willow Publishing (BMI). The Florida Boys southern gospel quartet had a popular recording of the song.

I’m not on an ego trip, I’m nothing on my own;
I make mistakes and often slip, just common flesh and bone.
But I’ll prove someday just why I say I’m of a special kind.
For when He was on the cross, I was on His mind.

Chorus: He knew me, yet He loved me.
He whose glory makes the heavens shine.
So unworthy of such mercy,
Yet when He was on the cross, I was on His mind.

A look of love was on His face, the thorns on His head,
The blood was on His scarlet robe, and stained it crimson red.
Though His eyes were on the crowd that day, He looked ahead in time,
For when He was on the cross, I was on His mind.

Source: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

