Because of Calvary


Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new (2 Corinthians 5:17).

I had not heard Because of Calvary in years. It was buried deep in my heart. While working on the post Who Am I the song was revealed on a playlist. I played Because of Calvary and feeling was like a well had been opened up in my heart. Because of Calvary is another one of Rusty Goodman’s timeless classics.

Because of Calvary gives the Gospel message in an after-the-fact manner, i.e. as telling how a wasted life had been changed by Christ’s redemptive work at Calvary. Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God; To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus (Rom 3:24-26).

Once we are saved by Jesus we become a new creature, a new creation have you; old things are passed away. For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him (2 Cor 5:21). Over time a Christian will grow in Christ-like living, realizing none are perfect. If you wondered if you are a Christian, if your conversion was true, ask yourself if there has really been a change or are you the same person as before. The last line of the chorus of Because of Calvary reads: And oh what a change there’s been because of Calvary. Take inventory of your life; can you say that?

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me (Gal 2:20). Rusty Goodman released Because of Calvary on the 1975 album, Singer, published by Canaan Records.

I lived a wasted life that had no meaning,
I found no peace in anything that I tried,
But I saw my life quickly end,
and a brand new one begin,
the day I found the place where Jesus died.

And Because of Calvary,
I’ll Never Be the Same Again,
I found the joy I never thought could ever be.
He took a life shattered with sin,
Put it together once again
And oh what a change there’s been
Because of Calvary

When my heart is sad and growing weary
I journey in my mind back to Calvary.
And I kneel beneath its flow that washes white as snow
And I find new strength awaiting there for me

It’s because of Calvary,
I’ll Never Be the Same Again.
I found the joy I never thought could ever be.
He took a life shattered with sin,
Put it together once again
And oh what a change there’s been

I know my life will never be the same again
Because of Calvary.

Source: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

