Wonderful Grace of Jesus


And of his fulness have all we received, and grace for grace. For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ (John 1:17).

For awhile I have wanted to write about the hymn, Wonderful Grace of Jesus. The hymn, which is a hymn of praise, tells the great, loving message of Christ’s love imparted to us by grace. I cannot come up with adequate words to convey the magnitude of the grace of God. Without it though we would all be hopeless. “Wonderful” is certainly a good start. Moreover the law entered, that the offence might abound. But where sin abounded, grace did much more abound: That as sin hath reigned unto death, even so might grace reign through righteousness unto eternal life by Jesus Christ our Lord (Rom 5:20-21). Wonderful Grace of Jesus is another hymn I heard as a young boy at Highland Park Baptist Church.

I am thankful for His wonderful saving grace. For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus: Whom God hath set forth to be a propitiation through faith in his blood, to declare his righteousness for the remission of sins that are past, through the forbearance of God; To declare, I say, at this time his righteousness: that he might be just, and the justifier of him which believeth in Jesus (Rom 3:23-26). For ye know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that, though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, that ye through his poverty might be rich (2 Cor 8:9).

I am thankful for His wonderful peace provided through grace. Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ: By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God (Rom 5:1-2).

I am thankful for His wonderful sustaining grace. And God is able to make all grace abound toward you; that ye, always having all sufficiency in all things, may abound to every good work: (As it is written, He hath dispersed abroad; he hath given to the poor: his righteousness remaineth for ever (2 Cor 9:8-9). For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly (Psalm 84:11). And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness (2 Cor 12:9). For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men, Teaching us that, denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly, in this present world (Tit 2:11-12).

And while I have not needed it yet I am thankful for His dying grace. You can read about that here. Now our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God, even our Father, which hath loved us, and hath given us everlasting consolation and good hope through grace, Comfort your hearts, and stablish you in every good word and work (2 Thes 2:16-17).

The lyrics and music of Wonderful Grace of Jesus were composed by Halder Lillenas in 1918. [I am unsure as to the current holder of copyright.]

Wonderful grace of Jesus,
Greater than all my sin;
How shall my tongue describe it,
Where shall its praise begin?
Taking away my burden,
Setting my spirit free;
For the wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me
.

Chorus: Wonderful the matchless grace of Jesus,
Deeper than the mighty rolling sea;
Wonderful grace, all sufficient for me, for even me.
Broader than the scope of my transgressions,
Greater far than all my sin and shame,
O magnify the precious Name of Jesus.
Praise His Name!

Wonderful grace of Jesus,
Reaching to all the lost,
By it I have been pardoned,
Saved to the uttermost,
Chains have been torn asunder,
Giving me liberty;
For the wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me.

Wonderful grace of Jesus,
Reaching the most defiled,
By its transforming power,
Making him God’s dear child,
Purchasing peace and heaven,
For all eternity;
And the wonderful grace of Jesus reaches me.

Sources: King James Version of the Bible, http://www.cyberhymnal.org/htm/w/o/wondergj.htm

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

