Leavin’ On My Mind


Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ (Titus 2:13).

Leavin’ On My Mind is another wonderful song written by the late Rusty Goodman. I used to like the lyrics but as I grow older they have become so true. The first line in the verse reads “The old house I’m living in is needing repair.” While that’s true of my physical house it’s even more true about my bodily house. It gets so tired from chasing life’s trials. Only with Christ’s help in this very hour can I keep going, and you too.

Isn’t it beautiful to know we have the blessed hope of seeing our Lord and Savior! For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ: Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself (Phil 3:20-21).

We know we have a home in heaven already prepared for us and that our Lord will bring us to be with Him, forever. Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know (John 14:1-4).

Oh my awaiting home! It will not need new shutters, a new roof or even a new coat of paint. In Heaven there will be no more trials, sorrows, depression, sickness, no more death. Family members gone from this life wait for me, for you, there. Seeing them will be a glad reunion and one that will never end. Yet, beyond these benefits of my new home will be meeting my Savior face to face. I feel so unworthy even as I write this. Thank you Jesus, the Lamb of God, for loving me. What Christian could not every now and then have leaving on their mind?

Rusty Goodman penned the words and music of Leavin’ On My Mind in 1979 (copyright by Word Music, LLC).

This old house I’ve been living in, is needing repair
The windows and the shutters are letting in the cold, cold air
I say to myself, I’m going to fix them, when I can get the time
But all I’m getting lately is leaving on my mind.

Chorus: Lately all I’ve got is leaving on my mind
It seems that’s all I’ve been thinking about, most all the time
Soon and very soon I’ll leave my troubles far behind
Cause all I’m getting lately is leaving on my mind.

I guess I ought to be looking for a better place to live
But I just can’t get excited about the world and what it can give
I wouldn’t care if I could buy it all with a solitary dime,
For what would this world’s goods do me,
With leaving on my mind.

Repeat Chorus, then:
Yes all I’m getting lately is leaving on my mind.

Sources: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

