I Will Meet You in the Morning


We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord (2 Corinthians 5:8).

I remember first hearing I Will Meet You in the Morning in the late 1970s on a recording by Bill Stafford. A little after that time I would hear the song at a church I visited for awhile. I came to love the song. Thirty some years later, the words of I’ll Meet You in the Morning mean so much more to me than just pretty rhymes. Loved ones (my mother and father and many others) have gone on from this world to Heaven. It will not be that long, I will meet them by the river. I hope I will meet you too. If you died today, would you be in Heaven? You can know.

Not only will I meet my loved ones in Heaven, I’ll meet my Savior! Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is (1 John 3:2). And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also (John 14:3).

In the city four-square when we are reunited there shall be no more sickness, oh no dying. And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away (Rev 21:4).

My friend Isa’s daughter Natasha went home to be with her Savior recently. I know Isa misses her daughter but she will meet her soon, in the morning, and he will wipe away Isa’s tears.

Albert E. Brumley wrote the words and music of I Will Meet You in the Morning. The song was copyright in 1936 by Hartford Music Company in “Lights of Life.” This quotation is given about the song, “Respectfully dedicated to my wife, Goldie, and my sons, Billey Joe, Albert E., Jr., and Thomas Rexton.”

I’ll meet you in the morning by the bright riverside,
When all sorrow has drifted away;
I’ll be standing at the portals when the gates open wide,
At the close of life’s long dreary day.

Chorus: I’ll meet you in the morning by the bright riverside,
When all sorrow has drifted away;
I’ll be standing at the portals when the gates open wide,
At the close of life’s long dreary day.

I will meet you on the morning, in the sweet by and by,
And exchange for the cross for a crown;
There will no disappointments and nobody shall die,
In the land ere the sun goeth down.

I will meet you in the morning at the end of the way
On the streets of that city of gold
Where we all can be together and be happy always
While the years and the ages shall roll.

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

