We Shall All Be Reunited


For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord (1 Thessalonians 4:16-17).

Tonight I thought of this song as I listened during the funeral of a departed saint. We Shall All Be Reunited. My mother and father are in Heaven. As my days go by the more love ones and friends I have that await me. It seems like only yesterday I was a child full of life with my family; so many good memories yet time passes. Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away (James 4:14). I miss my departed loved ones, but it will not be so long when we will be reunited. I am reminded of David when Bathsheba’s first son lay sick, and died. While the child was yet alive, I fasted and wept: for I said, Who can tell whether God will be gracious to me, that the child may live? But now he is dead, wherefore should I fast? can I bring him back again? I shall go to him, but he shall not return to me (2 Sam 12:22-23). Christ has defeated death; it is our victory. As David went to his son we will go to Christ and to our beloved. O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ (1 Cor 15:55-57).

Do you have loved ones that have gone to Heaven? Do you long to see them again? We know in confidence from God’s Word that we will see them again. I have written several posts about Rusty Goodman. I never met him in life but I look forward to meeting him and hearing him sing in Heaven.  Parents that mourned their daughter at today’s funeral will reunited.27714477

We Shall All Be Reunited was written by Newton S. Sitzlar.  He published the song but never knew it was recorded in 1933 by Alfred Karnes, a Baptist minister from Bedford, Virginia who also spent time in eastern Kentucky.  B. Bateman wrote the music. Rev. Karnes is known for having a part in the Bristol sessions which are considered to be the birth of country music. Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family both got their starts at Bristol in 1927.  Karnes wrote Called to the Foreign Field which was also recorded during the Bristol sessions.

Where is now my father’s family
That was here so long ago?
Sitting ’round the kitchen fireside
Brightened by the ruddy glow

Chorus: We shall all be reunited
In that land beyond the skies
Where there’ll be no separation
No more marching, no more sighs

Some have gone to lands far distant
And with others made their home
Some upon the world of waters
All their lives have chose to roam

Some have gone from us forever
For with us they could not stay
They have all dispersed and wandered
Gone away, so far away

We shall meet beyond the river
In that land of pure delight
Where no sickness or no sorrow
Will our joys there ever blight

We shall all be reunited
In that land beyond the skies
Where there’ll be no separation
No more marching, no more sighs
No more marching, no more sighs

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

