O Glorious Love


Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God: therefore the world knoweth us not, because it knew him not. Beloved, now are we the sons of God, and it doth not yet appear what we shall be: but we know that, when he shall appear, we shall be like him; for we shall see him as he is (1 John 3:1-2).

I was raised on hymns written by John W. Peterson; among them Heaven Came Down, Jesus Led Me All the Way, God’s Final Call, Come, Holy Spirit , and It Took a Miracle. Yet my favorite Peterson hymn may be O Glorious Love and that’s because the love of God is my favorite topic. Without His great love, His glorious love there would be nothing else worry writing about.

Because God loves us He sent His only begotten son to die for us, to be our atonement. Without such love we, having chose sin, would be doomed to hell. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Rom 5:8). Have you thought about the pain Christ suffered during beatings and during the crucifixion? Yet, have you thought about the most agonizing pain He suffered when He bore my sin, and yours? This love is well said in Philippians 2:5-8: Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

The words and music of O Glorious Love were written in 1970 with copyright to the John W. Peterson Music Company. Lyrics given below used by permission.

In the darkness Jesus found me,
Touch my eyes and made me see.
Broke the chains that longed had bound me,
Gave me life and liberty
.

Chorus
O glorious love that Christ my Lord, divine
That made Him stoop to save a soul like mine.
Through all my days and then in heaven above,
My soul will silence never.
I’ll worship Him forever
And praise Him for His glorious love.

Oh amazing truth to ponder.
He whom angel host attend.
Lord of Heaven thou somewhat wonder
He became the sinners friend.

Repeat chorus
O glorious love that Christ my Lord, divine
That made Him stoop to save a soul like mine.
Through all my days and then in heaven above,
My soul will silence never.
I’ll worship Him forever
And praise Him for His glorious love.

Tag
And praise Him for His glorious love.
And praise Him for His glorious love.

This entry was posted in Christian Music, Easter, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to O Glorious Love

  1. I love this hymn! Do you have piano music for it? My hymnals don’t have this song.

  2. Just ME says:

    Thanks Mike M. I’ve been looking all over for this one!

  3. Linda Tavis says:

    Cool! I was looking for the lyrics to this song and when I clicked on this site I saw the video I made 4 years ago!! Nice surprise.

Leave a Reply

