My Home, Sweet Home


And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof (Revelation 21:23).

I feature this hymn of the earlier 20th century in memory of my mom on Mother’s Day 2013. My Home, Sweet Home was another of her favorites and another song performed by Georgia Webb Gentry at Chattanooga’s Highland Park Baptist Church many years ago. I heard Ms Gentry sing but I was very young. Still I can hear her unique voice with her parakeet singing along. Most of my mother’s favorite songs were about Heaven. For see, she saw Heaven as her home. She was a pilgrim, a wayfaring stranger if you will, winding her way through a foreign land, home. These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them afar off, and were persuaded of them, and embraced them, and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth. For they that say such things declare plainly that they seek a country. And truly, if they had been mindful of that country from whence they came out, they might have had opportunity to have returned. But now they desire a better country, that is, an heavenly: wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God: for he hath prepared for them a city (Heb 11:13-16).

Many of our mothers have gone before, and our fathers and even some of our children. For those that knew The Lord, they are home, at that sweet home, and we shall join them soon. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord (1 Thes 4:16-17).

Yet the best thing about about home is the Father! And we, when we are united, His children from the realms of human history, will worship Him. The opening of worship is told in Revelation 5:11-12, And I beheld, and I heard the voice of many angels round about the throne and the beasts and the elders: and the number of them was ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands; Saying with a loud voice, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory, and blessing.

Reverend N. B. Vandall wrote the words and music for My Home, Sweet Home in 1926.

My mom gave us a sweet home here but as sweet as it was it did not compare to the one that awaits us. Happy Mother’s Day to all. Soon you will be home.

Walking along life’s road one day,
I heard a voice so sweetly say,
“A place up in heav’n I am building thee,
A beautiful, beautiful home.”

Chorus: Home, sweet home, home, sweet home–
Where I’ll never roam!
I see the light of that city so bright–
My home, sweet home.

Loved ones upon that shore I’ll meet,
Casting their crowns at Jesus’ feet;
I’ll worship and praise Him for evermore
In my beautiful, beautiful home.

Life’s day is short–I soon shall go
To be with Him who loved me so;
I see in the distance that shining shore,
My beautiful, beautiful home
.

Sources: Wordwise Hymns, King James Version of the Bible

20120706-214534.jpg

This entry was posted in Christian Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

