Look for Me


For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known (1 Corinthians 13:12).

Many of the hymns and songs I have written about I have known most of my life. Yet along life’s way God sends other songs that speak to me, comfort me and remind me of His goodness, love and many promises. Look for Me is one of those, a hymn I only recently heard but has been planted firmly in my heart. The words and music were written by Rusty Goodman (copywriter 1983 by Word Music, LLC), possibly one of the twentieth century’s best hymn writers but also perhaps not fully appreciated. If you have read much of this blog you know he is one of my favorites along with Fanny Crosby, Philip B Bliss and John W Peterson. I will meet them all some day as I will be “looking for them.”

I believe we will recognize others in Heaven. James, Peter and John immediately recognized Moses and Elijah on the Mount of Transfiguration (Mark 9:1-5). Jesus even tells us those in Heaven will sit with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob (Matthew 8:11). In Ephesians 3:15, Paul said, “Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named.” We will know our loved ones and they will know us. We will meet those we have not know but I believe we will know them already (Luke 9:33). So my Christian friend, rejoice!

If you are not a Christian I hope you will seek Christ while He may be found and call upon Him. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved (Romans 10:13). You too have friends awaiting you. Please do not disappoint them.

When you finally, make your entrance, to that city
Of jasper walls, and bright gold avenues
As you behold ,all it’s beauty, and it’s splendor
Remember, there’s just one request I make of you

Chorus: Look for me, for I will be there too
I realize, when you arrive, there’ll be so much to view
After you’ve been there 10,000 years, a million, maybe two
Look for me, for I will be there too

As you go down your list of firsts, there’s no question
You’ll want to see your loved ones, waiting there for you
And when you feel, you’ve shared your story with the last one
That wants to hear you tell, just how you made it through

2nd Chorus, sung after 2nd verse:
Look for me, I’d like to hear it too
I realize when you arrive, there’ll be so much to view
After you’ve been there 10,000 years, a million, maybe two
Look for me, for I will be there too

Look for Me featuring Rusty Goodman’s daughter ->

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

