You Never Mentioned Him to Me


When I say unto the wicked, O wicked man, thou shalt surely die; if thou dost not speak to warn the wicked from his way, that wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand (Ezekiel 33:8).

I always write my own thoughts from my heart that reflect what a hymn means to me, based on what the Bible has taught me. But for this somber hymn, You Never Mentioned Him to Me, written by James Rowe, who also wrote Love Lifted Me, the words expressed in this BLOG POST capture my heart. So I have copied some of the Faughn Family text here:

One of the most haunting songs ever written, this simple song is one of the most motivating hymns we regularly sing. Or, maybe we don’t! It may just be me, but it seems to me that we don’t sing this song as much as we used to. Could it be out of guilt?

The song pictures Judgment Day, but one where we are waiting for our sentencing. Then, one who has learned his fate is to an eternal hell, cries out, “You met me day by day and knew I was astray, yet never mentioned Him to me.” Those words are chilling, and the thought is horrible, but the song is more than that.

Once we sing the first verse and that chilling chorus, the other two verses contain great encouragement to work. My favorite line in the song is, “So work as days go by, that yonder none may cry, ‘You never mentioned Him to me’.” In reality, that’s the emphasis of the song. It may be a hard song to take, but the emphasis is on doing our work as much as we possibly can.

When we study the Scriptures, we learn that such is our work. Paul stated that he had planted, Apollos had watered, but God gave the increase. Our work is to sow the seed; it is up to the lost to decide to come to Christ. If we can honestly say we are truly sharing Christ with others, songs like this will be great motivation.

If not, though, these songs are chilling and haunting. We can feel guilty after singing them, knowing that we aren’t telling others about Christ.

Which is the song for you?

That closing question is right on. Christ commissioned His church in Mark 16:15 to go into every place on Earth to tell everyone about the gospel and His love for them. For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16). Have you? Will you?

I have oft wondered if the tears God wipes from our eyes in Revelation 21:4 are tears we cry as we watch our friends, neighbors and even our personal enemies being cast into damnation. It is a sobering thought.

The tune for You Never Mentioned Him to Me was written by James Gaines though the current arrangement was by Otis McCoy. The song was copyright in 1949, after James Rowe’s death.

When in the better land before the bar we stand,
How deeply grieved our souls will be;
If any lost one there should cry in deep despair,
“You never mentioned Him to me.”

Chorus: You never mentioned Him to me,
You helped me not the way to see;
You met me day by day and knew I was astray,
Yet never mentioned Him to me.”

O let us spread the word where e’er it may be heard,
Help groping souls the light to see,
That yonder none may say, “You showed me not the way.”
You never mentioned Him to me.

A few sweet words may guide a lost one to His side,
Or turn sad eyes on Calvary;
So work as days go by, that yonder none may cry,
“You never mentioned Him to me.” er none may cry,
“You never mentioned Him to me.”

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

