Love Lifted Me


He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings (Psalms 40:2).

20130811-214604.jpg
Love Lifted Me is another hymn stored deep in heart since youth. It is a great song of the faith and sang often in Baptist traditional worship services. To me, the hymn never gets old.

The theme of Love Lifted Me is that we are lost in our own trespasses, without hope, sinking in eternal abyss but Christ loved us so much that He paid the price for our sin and is there to save us from destruction. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Rom 5:8). For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16).

I was hopeless, sinking in a miry pit. Christ saw me. I called out to Him. He saved me. He was the only one that could lift me out and sit me on the solid rock. How about you? Are you sinking in sin, bound for eternal misery? Why not call on Christ! Ask Him, He will. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved (Rom 10:13).

The lyrics of Love Lifted Me were penned by James Rowe in 1912. The music was composed by How­ard E. Smith. The song was written in Saug­a­tuck, Con­nec­ti­cut. It was copyrighted in 1939 by John T. Benson in 1939.

I was sinking deep in sin, far from the peaceful shore,
Very deeply stained within, sinking to rise no more,
But the Master of the sea, heard my despairing cry,
From the waters lifted me, now safe am I.

Chorus: Love lifted me! Love lifted me!
When nothing else could help
Love lifted me!

All my heart to Him I give, ever to Him I’ll cling
In His blessèd presence live, ever His praises sing,
Love so mighty and so true, merits my soul’s best songs,
Faithful, loving service too, to Him belongs.

Souls in danger look above, Jesus completely saves,
He will lift you by His love, out of the angry waves.
He’s the Master of the sea, billows His will obey,
He your Savior wants to be, be saved today.

Sources: Cyberhymnal, Holy Bible, King James Version

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

