Guiding Light


To give light to them that sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace (Luke 1:79)

Please indulge me to spotlight a song that was not written specifically as a Christian song. Still, the song has Christian roots and speaks out loudly a Christian message, at least to me.

Guiding Light calls out the message of hope.  The lyrics are very moving yet also comforting.  They tell of a person (could have been any of us) lost in their way on a wide highway, dismayed and tired. This person has but one friend, one true friend.  We have but one true friend, our Lord Jesus Christ. A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24).  Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends (John 15:13).

The person’s soul is tired and broken (remember when you were lost and tired) though still yearned for their friend to lead them home.  We are all born with knowledge of the Light, the way home.  That was the true Light, which lighteth every man that cometh into the world (John 1:9).  If we realize we are lost in our own way and don’t want to be in darkness any longer Jesus is there.  Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life (John 8:12). I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness (John 12:46).  If you are lost, searching for the way home, longing for true love of the Father, please call on Christ today. For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost (Luke 19:10). That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved (Romans 10:9).  He is waiting to guide you home.

Even as Christians our beings, our souls tire. We suffer hardships and disappointments, seemingly lost on our Heavenly journey homeward.  Christ is still there. He is our comforter.  Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28).  Wherefore he saith, Awake thou that sleepest, and arise from the dead, and Christ shall give thee light (Ephesians 5:14).  Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path (Psalms 119:105).  But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin (1 John 1:7).

Guiding Light was composed by Foy Vance and published in 2014 on the Feel for Me EP album, (c) Glassnote Entertainment Group, LLC.  Foy Vance hails from Northern Ireland.  He is the son of a protestant Christian minister who pastored churches in both Northern Ireland and the United States.  One can definitely feel sacred and comforting undercurrents in some of Foy Vance’s early songs and especially Guiding Light. Fair disclosure. To my knowledge Mr. Vance is not a composer of Christian music though he has played at Christian youth retreats.  You can read more about Foy Vance here.

Well the road is wide,
And waters run on either side
And my shadow went with fading light,
Stretching out towards the night.

‘Cause the Sun is low,
And I yet have still so far to go,
My lonely heart is beating so,
Tired of the wonder.

But there’s a sign ahead,
Though I think it’s the same one again,
And I’m thinking ’bout my only friend,
And so I find my way home.

When I need to get home
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

Well the air is cold,
And yonder lies my sleeping soul,
By the branches broke like bones,
This weakened tree no longer holds.

But the night is still,
And I have not yet lost my will,
Oh and I will keep on moving ’till,
‘Till I find my way home.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

When I need to get home,
You’re my guiding light,
You’re my guiding light.

Source: King James Version of the Bible

This entry was posted in Miscellanious and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

