I Know My Name Is There


Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven (Luke 10:20).

I first heard I Know My Name is There at Liberty Baptist Church about 25 years ago though the hymn was written about 100 years before that.

If you are a Christian, that is you have accepted Christ as your personal savior, then your name is recorded in Heaven in the Book of Life. The book of Philippians tell us that. And I intreat thee also, true yokefellow, help those women which laboured with me in the gospel, with Clement also, and with other my fellowlabourers, whose names are in the book of life (Philippians 4:3).

We are all born in sin (Romans 3:23). None of us are good but God loved us so much that He gave his only begotten son to die for us for remission of sin. But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us (Romans 5:8). You can be saved today, right now. That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved (Romans 10:9).

Trust Jesus today. Your name will be written in the Book of Life. If you die without accepting Jesus you are doomed to eternal hell. And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire (Revelation 20:15).

Daniel S. Warner (source: HymnTime)

Daniel S. Warner wrote the lyrics of I Know My Name is There in 1983. Barney Warren collaborated with Mr. Warner to write the music for the hymn.

My name is in the book of Life,
Oh, bless the name of Jesus;
I rise above all doubt and strife,
And read my title clear.

Refrain: I know, I know,
My name is there;
I know, I know,
My name is written there.

My name once stood with sinners lost,
And bore a painful record;
But by His blood the Savior crossed,
And placed it on His roll.

Yet inward trouble often cast,
A shadow o’er my title;
But now with full salvation blest,
Praise God! it’s ever clear.

While others climb through worldly strife
To carve a name of honor,
High up in heaven’s book of Life,
My name is written there.

Sources: HymnTime, Hymnary, Timeless Truths, King James Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I Know My Name Is There

  1. What a beautiful and joyful hymn! Thanks for introducing me to it Mike, as I’d never heard it. How wonderful to have that assurance in our hearts, of our names written in the Lamb’s Book of Life. The third verse interested me… but praise God for the author’s subsequent assurance of sins forgiven and a Home in Heaven.

Leave a comment