Come Unto Me


Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28).

No one cares more for Christians than Jesus Christ, the rock of His church which is the body of believers. A hymn composed well over a century ago echos the theme of His care for us. The hymn is Come Unto Me which I only first heard about 25 years ago.

First, we must come unto Jesus for salvation. That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life (John 3:15). You must be saved in order to receive the tender mercies of God!

In this was manifested the love of God toward us, because that God sent his only begotten Son into the world, that we might live through him. Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins (1 John 4:9-10)

We Christians all either have or will experience heartaches, sickness, even deaths among our loved ones. Often, even in times of earthly happiness we may have an inner lacking of peace. Keep trusting in Jesus.

Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (1 Peter 5:6-7).

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid (John 14:27).

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world (John 16:33).

Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows (Matthew 10:29-31).

Charles Price Jones, an African-American minister and hymn-writer wrote the lyrics and music of Come Unto Me in 1908.

Charles Price Jones

Hear the blessed Savior calling the oppressed,
“Oh, ye heavy-laden, come to Me and rest;
Come, no longer tarry, I your load will bear,
Bring Me every burden, bring Me every care.”

Refrain: Come unto Me, I will give you rest;
Take My yoke upon you, hear Me and be blest;
I am meek and lowly, come and trust My might;
Come, My yoke is easy, and My burden’s light.

Are you disappointed, wand’ring here and there,
Dragging chains of doubt and loaded down with care?
Do unholy feelings struggle in your breast?
Bring your case to Jesus—He will give you rest.

Stumbling on the mountains dark with sin and shame,
Stumbling toward the pit of hell’s consuming flame;
By the pow’rs of sin deluded and oppressed,
Hear the tender Shepherd, “Come to Me and rest.”

Have you by temptation often conquered been,
Has a sense of weakness brought distress within?
Christ will sanctify you, if you’ll claim His best;
In the Holy Spirit, He will give you rest.

Sources: Hymnary, HymnTime, Timeless Truths, Wikipedia, King James Bible

This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Come Unto Me

  1. Many thanks for these very encouraging words of scripture Mike… and thanks so much for introducing me to this beautiful hymn. I never have heard it before – or heard of its author, who has clearly written many other wonderful hymns.

Leave a comment