Home Before Dark


“I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work” (John 9:4).

Back when I was a child our neighborhoods were much safer than today. My parents, and my friends’ parents let us play outside, down the street and ride our bikes blocks away.

My mother just had two rules, don’t do anything dumb and be home before dark. She said nothing good happens after dark and the only people who should be out are either going to work or to the hospital. I remember once I stayed out past dark playing baseball with friends. On the way home though, just a couple of blocks away, a man stopped me and stole my glove (sadly, he ended up in prison for many crimes). There is another occasion that am not proud off. When I was near 18 years old some friends and I rolled the yard of another teen. Someone in the house saw us and turned on their outside lights. We all ran but I took a tumble down the hill, breaking a finger nail completely off. Once home I confessed to my mother. She said, remember nothing good happens after dark. I had to go to the emergency room and worse, she made me apologize and help clean the yard.

Years later our neighborhoods and world have gotten so much worse. We can hardly allow our children to play outside away from the house even in daylight, but evils of night are far worse. Our cultures and world are quickly approaching darkness like that existed in the time of Noah. Our time is only going to be worse, and worse. Night Cometh!

My mother and maternal grandfather

The ultimate darkness will be during the Great Tribulation. For then shall be great tribulation, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be (Matthew 24:21). I believe in the rapture by Jesus Christ of His church. If you do not we can still have fellowship, if you have been born again.

But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him. For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord. Wherefore comfort one another with these words (1 Thessalonians 4:13-18).

Whether I go by the way of death or by the rapture I will escape the darkness of the Great Tribulation. While I had spoken about darkness representing evil, darkness can also represent the loss of mind such as dementia or Alzheimer’s disease. While I cannot choose what may become of my health I pray that God will spare me from such. Nonetheless, even if I should taste the darkness of the mind or other diseases I know God will provide loving kindness. Remember, O LORD, thy tender mercies and thy lovingkindnesses; for they have been ever of old. Remember not the sins of my youth, nor my transgressions: according to thy mercy remember thou me for thy goodness’ sake, O LORD (Psalm 25:6-7).

Today I deviate from writing about hymns and Christian songs. Instead I share one of my poems that maybe one day be set to music by someone much more musically inclined than me. I do pray that God sends someone my way to do that. I wrote this poem in September 2020 with some inspiration after listening to the sermon, Home Before Dark by the late Vance Havner. My words are my prayer.

I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing (2 Timothy 4:7-8).

Home Before Dark

I left on the journey before dawn,
Walking tall with all my strength and brawn.
Giants appeared; chasms in front of me lay
But Jesus came to lead me on the way.

At noonday I lifted up His name.
The Gospel of Christ I did proclaim.
Scorn and shame the old enemy did throw.
Jesus was there gently leading me through.

Eventide is near as I now crawl.
But in His loving care I stand tall.
Daily, trials and grief around me be.
Jesus is here; he’ll never leave me.

Chorus: I’m almost home, just a few more miles.
Soon, there’ll be no more earthly trials.
The way Christ my Savior already marked.
The sun is setting but I’ll be home before dark.
Home before dark.
[last verse only]

(c) Mike Mahathy, 2020

Sources: King James Bible

This entry was posted in poem and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Before Dark

  1. That’s a beautiful poem Mike – thank you for sharing. There’s no doubt about it… the days are growing darker, spiritually speaking. I’ve been recently dismayed to see a place of worship of the Lord Jesus Christ sold to “spiritualists.” Other sinister groups are also buying up property. There are differing views amongst Christians with regard to the rapture but all are agreed on one thing… we need to be ready and we pray for the salvation of loved ones and acquaintances who are not.

  2. Pingback: There Will Be No Dark Valley | Hymns in My Heart

Leave a comment